SOMERSET LEVELS 204 – DAWN (MONO)

.
.

Dawn.
Canada Geese over Tadham Moor at the day’s start; 9 Jan 2015.

The natural world turns me on, both visually and spiritually.  And this simple image reminds me of that early morning – cold, misty, the world just lightening at Day Start – and this little group of beings passing steadily and with great self-assurance eastwards across the sky.  I couldn’t hear their wing beats, but their loud, honking calls filled the still air.

And, switching from the sublime to the technical >>> Silver Efex Pro 2 is my (vastly >>> vastly!) preferred software for creating and processing black and white images.  But here’s an (admittedly rare) example of Capture NX2, an old Nikon programme way out of the photographic mainstream now, doing (for my tastes at least) a better job.  As with a lot of photography, its always worth looking and poking around, just to see what does what.

Clicking onto this image opens a slightly larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 3200 ISO; conversion to mono in Capture NX2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 204 – DAWN (MONO)

  1. richholschuh says:

    Powerful, Adrian. Your descriptor of “self-assurance” conveys worlds…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Rich, thank you very much! Yes, self-assurance – living beings, creatures to be at one with as muchas we are at one with each other, knowing what they’re doing and where they’re going. Adrian

      Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    It would be a simple thing to do an automatic level adjustment to lighten the highlights, but I’m glad that you didn’t. You’ve kept it very dark and moody, which reflects very well your description of your feelings at the time. I too find it more rewarding to make subtle–and manual–adjustments to match what I visualized at the time of capture and/or development. Good stuff, Adrian.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, thank you very much for this endorsement, I very much appreciate it! As has often occurred, we share similar views. Incidentally, I loved your comment on what I may look like after my (very minor) surgery!!! 😀 A

      Like

  3. iosatel says:

    Great picture!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

