ARCHIVE 120 – STAIRS IN A PUB

 

 

newq_026aX
.
Stairs in a pub, Newquay, Cornwall; 13 Sept 2011.

After lunch, as we left the pub, this colourful chasm opened up on our right.  Letting it go unphotographed was out of the question.  It was awash with colour and I was especially taken with the black and white edges to the steps, which are presumably there to help prevent inebriate revellers from going head over heels – or, as we earthy Brits might from time to time term it, arse over tit – down the stairs.

Two things came to mind.  First, I wanted those black and white steps to be somewhere near vertical in the finished product, to give the effect of a wonderfully coloured wall, or of a receding series of coloured columns.  Second, a problem, there was great contrast in the scene, with the sun blazing in from the left, so I used a low sensitivity – 400 ISO – to give more latitude for digital manipulation later on.

I took two frames and, as I clicked the first, this chap appeared from nowhere and provided an unwitting focal point for the converging lines!

I’ve rotated the shot, and used NX2‘s control points to lighten both the left hand wall and the man.  I’ve also slightly raised contrast in the sunlit areas, to better bring out the patterns made by the thin window frames.

D700 with 24-120 Nikkor at 24mm; 400 ISO; Capture NX2; rotated 90 degrees anti-clockwise.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to ARCHIVE 120 – STAIRS IN A PUB

  1. This is how most pub stairways look when I am exiting them after a few hours 🙂 . Nice play in perspective and so fitting for the subject.

    Like

  2. drawandshoot says:

    Fabulous! I like that you rotated the image, it’s just that much more fascinating.

    Like

  3. WHOAH!!!! Took me a while to work this one out… it was as if I’d had one too many… great shot! Original as always!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Meanderer says:

    I feel like I’ve had one wine too many looking at this 🙂 I love the colours and window of light.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      That’s good to hear, my friend, thank you >>> but its all those fruit teas, I told you no good would come of it! And I bet a lot of sozzled revellers have had the same thought, and have clung desperately to that battered bannister, wishing their world would stop rotating! 😀

      Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    Definitely a vertical impression of the stairs, and bright colours again.
    As for the yes’s and noses of manipulating the photo. Like it, nice and cheerful, thanks. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      There you are, brightness once again, positively Technicolor, so don’t think I don’t think of you because I don’t … how does it go? … “the screaming stopped and I thought of you … and then the screaming started all over again ..”

      And let’s just be thankful that I haven’t had surgery on some more personal part of my gorgeous anatomy, as there’s no telling what Photographic Memories might come up with … 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. paula graham says:

    Ha, ha..re chaps and foreigners..I used to ride in chaps!!…Nice photo and interesting and effective manipulation too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Youre right (of course) about the ‘chap’. He helps out an already interesting photo. xxx

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Chap? See, don’t I introduce you to some fun new words, words that will really affect your social standing in downtown New Joisey??? Here’s some syntax: “I say, old chap, you wouldn’t happen to have cup of tea on you, would you?”.

      I’m glad you like the picture – thank you, Gem! I’m doing ok, taking it easy as instructed, and so far there’s been no bleeding – but a friend phoned and made me laugh, and that was quite painful! ATP xxx

      Like

      • So quit laughing! 🙂
        (not a good idea)

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Yes, Ma’am, quitting laughing right now, Ma’am! I’ve an urge to throw a salute but then, who would catch it? Spot the dog? No, I can’t see him. Oh god there’s a gurgle! … it might have been laughter … or then again those curried fishcakes … life has suddenly become very uncertain ….. 😦 …

          Oh yes, I see your area is due for heavy snowfall, you all take good care of yourselves, OneGem!!!! ATP xxx

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

