SOMERSET LEVELS 203 – WINTER TRACK (MONO)

 

Winter track
.
Winter track on Tadham Moor; 9 Jan 2015: click onto this image and it will open at larger size in a separate window.

The track leading south from the Magic Carpark on a cold winter’s day.  A layer of chippings covers the ubiquitous Levels mud and makes driving easier, and there are the tyre tracks of the farmers’ sturdy vehicles – a farmer has just passed on his quad bike, carrying his two sheep dogs – one cradled on his lap, and the other keeping a precarious balance on the machine’s pillion –  and my camera was not to hand!

In the distance, at the far end of this wet lane, the telephoto brings closer the high ground of the Polden Hills, which separate this area of the Levels from another large stretch – Sedgemoor – to the south.

The enlarged version of the image maybe gives a better idea of what it was like being there.  And up at the far end of the lane, and especially visible against that distant hillside, is the digital grain (noise) that, even on a full frame sensor, results from shooting at 3200 ISO; this speckling could probably be reduced by using software.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 185mm; 3200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Strong Infrared Low Contrast preset and adding a slight Ambrotype tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

19 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 203 – WINTER TRACK (MONO)

  1. drawandshoot says:

    These local landscapes that you photograph are my favourites, Adrian. There is something so intimate about them. This is gorgeous.
    I love the framed tiny vista at the end of the lane, a wonderland!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I know just what you mean about that vista at the end of the lane – I often see little bits of framed landscape like this as magical places – and have the same feeling when looking at far off lights twinkling at night.

      I’m very happy to know you like these Somerset Levels landscapes, Karen, I enjoy creating these images very much. The Levels are very close to me, I was brought up on their periphery and, after I die, no churchyards or cemeteries for me, just a simple, Pagan service out in these fields, maybe even in this lane, and my ashes added to these wet, black soils. Adrian

      Like

  2. Marvellous “sheen” effect on the puddles

    Like

  3. poppytump says:

    …. Put that marmalade toast down , drink your coffee and get out there … one farmer and his sheep dog wait for no man 😉
    Love this track heading off to …. one I would avoid with our water loving white fluffy dog Adrian !

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Its good to hear from you, Poppy, but oh you be a hard taskmistress, you be, for an old man needs his comestibles – woolly ones in winter of course – and the toast and coffee gives me just enough energy to get the car door open ….

      But this track is not for your dog because, if you manage to drag him away from the puddles, and then barrel on southwards over the fields, in no time at all you’ll both end up in the River Brue – which he would just love!!!!! Adrian 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful, Adrian. The larger version really jumps out and hits you. I can really imagine being there. Superb!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. paula graham says:

    Yes, very typical and cold looking too. I do like the way you processed the work, in a light and airy way, if you follow me!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Re your excellent landscapes, apologies for making you blush, but I am simply being honest. Of course these are only my opinions and I’m only one in millions of souls but, to me, you and that D3 produce some good stuff!

      Yes, I do follow you about light and airy and that was deliberate. My black and whites can be very dark and I like that, but here, although I could easily have gone down that road (no pun intended!), I wanted to keep the detail visible – and the more so since I’d decided to post a larger file that could be viewed at larger size. So rather than something dark and mysterious, this is more a record of the scene. Thank you for your thoughts, Paula. Adrian

      Like

  6. This is a beauty but the enlarged version is awesome! The tire (tyre?) 😉 tracks and the fence on the background along with the sky are more noticeable that way. Fabulous, bud. But the sheepdogs and farmer would have been fun to see. xxx ATP

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gemma, thank you for these good words! But don’t you ever tire of using tire for tyre … ? … so different … 😉 ..

      Yes, I know, the dogs and the farmer, I’ve seen them twice now, I think they’re always along this lane early in the day – but both times I’ve been in the thrall of the bitter marmalade sandwiches and the hot coffee – I must try harder, I know ….

      I hope you and your’s are doing well! All good wishes from ATP xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. karijeppesen says:

    …so good, Adrian…all this beautiful mirrors of water…

    Like

  8. Sallyann says:

    I do like puddles and although I popped across to the full size picture and the black and white showed up the texture beautifully, I couldn’t help but think maybe a nice orange hat and some cheerful green wellies might make the picture a little less… well, maybe… colourless.? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hahaha >>> colourless is what it is! >>> I knew you’d have reservations!!! Grave reservations??? Having said which I am aware that my last three posts have all been mono, so may be its time for some dayglo, must go out and get a can/barrel. As always, Hallysann, its good to hear from you! 🙂 A

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pools of sky on the ground.

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

