ARCHIVE 117 – STAIRS WITH DRINKS CAN

 

 

newq_312aX
.
Drinks can on stairs in Penzance, Cornwall; 14 Sept 2011.

Inhibition is a strange thing – and most often something which I refuse to give in to.  After all, doesn’t that song from The Rocky Horror Picture Show say something like “Do it, don’t dream it!’?  But I’ve rambled on before about the – as I see it –  cardinal sin of digital photography being trying to pass off some highly manipulated colour image as point of capture reality, and that is something I’m quite sure about. 

So, here, yes this a picture of a drinks can on partially sunlit stairs in Penzance, but I’ve made the sunlit area much brighter than it actually was and I’ve very significantly increased the bright orange of the can to make it more prominent.  I feel better for letting you all know that!

This is posted under ‘Colour’, and its an example of very little colour helping a picture.  The green at top center, the (now) bright orange can and the deep brown of the handrail are all relatively small items, but remove them and the picture loses something, and presenting it in straight monochrome makes it very featureless indeed – although there may be some potential for a really radical black and white conversion here.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

25 Responses to ARCHIVE 117 – STAIRS WITH DRINKS CAN

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Angle you have selected make it perfect abstract!

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    That works for me, Adrian. A very simple image on one level but one that I enjoy lingering over. Half closing my eyes I become much more aware of the alternating bands of light and shade as my eye travels up the stairs and the fact that the brightest part of the image is at the top of the stairs.
    I love the can – it’s what my eye always comes to rest on but….since we accept this is already a ‘processed’ image and not reality I would suggest one more change: move the can either up or down two or three step from its current position. I would favour down rather than up because it then becomes the natural ‘stop’ on which one’s eye rests at the bottom Rt corner. I think that would be easy to move. Hope you don’t mind the suggestion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, thank you for these solid thoughts. Half closing the eyes is a very useful suggestion, something I know about but forget to do often enough – and it certainly pays dividends here. As you say, it emphasises the bands or blocks of light – but also the rusty brown of the banister – while the can is subdued in the darkness.

      I certainly don’t mind any suggestions made about my images – that’s a part of what blogging is all about. And I think you’re right about moving the can down to lower right to provide a natural “stop” >>> but the facts are first that I don’t know how to move objects in images in NX2 (or even if NX2 is capable of that), and second that moving / substituting things in images is something I simply don’t do.

      Why not? Well its not through any high principles on my part, its simply that, if I start doing it, where is it going to stop – the possibilities are infinite, I might be opening Pandora’s box. I do of course delete (small) items from images, usually in instances where they detract significantly from the subject, but actually uprooting something from one part of an image – or from another image – and placing it elsewhere is simply not my style! I have style? Well, apparently so! 😀 Thanks for your thoughts my friend! Adrian

      Like

      • LensScaper says:

        Once you discover the Clone tool in Photoshop, you discover a whole new world of imagination!! I’ve learnt something from your reply, I have View NX but I never use it, the images appear in it briefly when I upload from the Nikon, I may use it to view and delete the total rubbish but that’s all. Next upload, I will pause and see what its capabilities are.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          No thanks, Andy, I don’t want the whole new world of imagination, I’ll just stick with what I’ve got! 🙂

          No, View NX is not what I’m talking about, its a far less powerful programme which I think comes free with Nikon DSLRs. However it may do you for the “initial sorting out” of images after you’ve uploaded them >>> but I’m wary of getting rid of “dud” images immediately after I’ve shot them, as they can often exude more potential / interest later.

          I’m talking about Nikon’s Capture NX2, which (at least latterly) was not a free gift; I use it for all of my processing, except that which progresses on into Nik’s (now Google’s) SEP2, CEP4 and Dfine2. So I never use any Adobe products at present.

          However, Nikon’s Raw files are not identical entities; latterly at least, each new upper market DSLR (al least) has produced new format Raw files, that need an upgrade to NX2. However, Nikon has now stop producing these upgrades which means that, should I be able to afford a new Nikon super DSLR in the future, I’ll need to be exploring at least the capabilities of something like Adobe Camera Raw in order to process my Raw files – will I use ACR to convert them to TIFFs which are then read into NX2??? I don’t know. And another scenario is that my dear (and backed up) NX2 finally becomes inoperable, which will them propel me towards ACD and also Lightroom rather faster! Good to talk to you, Andy. Adrian

          Like

  3. eevamarian says:

    Impressive! 🙂

    Like

  4. At first I thought it was blinds, but then I read. DUH! Read first and I won’t get so confused! ;-). I like this, A. xxx ATP

    Like

  5. lauramacky says:

    nicely seen and processed!

    Like

  6. sheldonk2014 says:

    I love what you did with this shot great finishing work

    Like

  7. paula graham says:

    Well spoken, well photographed, I like and admire your sentiments lots.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. richholschuh says:

    Stunning Adrian – no apologies needed. It was the right thing to do and we all see it the better for your lack of inhibition. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sallyann says:

    I like it. 🙂
    It might be nice to look at without the can, but I like the can, it makes your looking at last longer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

