ARCHIVE 116 – ONE OF GEOFF’S APPLES

 

One of Geoff's apples

.

Geoff is a good friend of our’s and each summer he gives us fruit and vegetables from his immaculately kept garden.  Here is one of his delicious apples – and I like its colours as much as I know I’ll enjoy its taste!

This photograph was taken on 27 Sept 2008, and I went all out on equipment with it, doing it all by the book (for once).  Hence it is sitting on a sheet of black paper that rises up smoothly behind it, to give a featureless black substrate and backdrop.

The Nikon F6 was loaded with Fuji Velvia 50 colour transparency film, that grand old standby of landscape and other colour photographers, and I rated it at 64 ISO to further saturate the colours – and further colour saturation was also achieved with a polarising filter.  The lens was a 105mm Nikkor, and the whole caboodle was tripod-mounted.

UPDATE: And this is a sad post, because Geoff has died, so that we no longer have the warm friendship and neighbourliness of this real English Gentleman –  nor his tasty fruit and veg.

.

.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to ARCHIVE 116 – ONE OF GEOFF’S APPLES

  1. I’m so sorry, Adrian. ❤️

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Yep , I like it ..gorgeous subtle colours

    Like

  3. Malin H says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss, my friend. I’m pretty sure that he’s still around, just not in this physical world. He will be in your heart and your memory.

    Like

  4. sheldonk2014 says:

    Sadness are the truths of Apple’s felling from a once tree but the friend you got from the Apple is still sweeter then the fruit could be.
    I know how it feel to loose my friend my heart goes out to you, prayers and lite, many blessings,peace

    Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    I just read your reply to Sue and then remembered a photo of what must have been Geoff’s house which you posted a while back.

    I love this image. The colours are lovely. I also like the simplicity, and the way one can almost reach out and touch the apple.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, that’s right, I posted a mono shot of his bedroom windows, which I think I called “Dead man’s curtains” – that view hasn’t changed much – as I said to Hallysann, gutting and building works are still ongoing.

      Thanks for your good comments about the shot – Minimalism loves black backgrounds! A 🙂

      Like

  6. Sallyann says:

    So tell me, did they paint the window frames yellow, hang orange curtains and fill the house with children and the garden with roses at Geoff’s house. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha, I hope this will come to pass, my friend, but they’re still at the turning out and gutting stage, I’m afraid – but let’s hope very much that your predictions will come true! A 🙂

      Like

  7. Sue Vincent says:

    I’m sorry for the loss of your friend. The image is a beautiful tribute.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Sue, thank you very much. Geoff died several years back, I lose track of time really, but the house across the road will always be “Geoff’s house”, even though its now being gutted and modernised. I don’t think he liked being photographed but I did manage to get him to face the camera once, and I have some treasured black and white prints of him in his armchair as a result. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

