SOMERSET LEVELS 202 – SUNRISE OVER TADHAM MOOR

 

 

Tadham Moor sunrise
.
Sunrise over Tadham Moor; 9 Jan 2015.

Totney Drove, single track and metalled, passes through a small group of tall willows that, as so frequently happens with such silhouettes, reminds me of an exploding artillery shell.

D700 with 16-35 Nikkor at 31mm; 1000 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

25 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 202 – SUNRISE OVER TADHAM MOOR

  1. bananabatman says:

    I’m way behind on reading posts Adrian and that means that I missed this great ‘battlefield’ shot. I see what you mean and I love it. The red sunrise plays a big part in generating that emotion.

    I’m not good at getting up for sunrises and the trouble is that it’s not going to get any easier this year. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meanderer says:

    Lovely, Adrian.

    Like

  3. Emily Gooch says:

    Very nice capture, Adrian. The image really speaks to my spirit. I love the composition and the emotion this image creates. It makes me feel that even though the darkness surrounds, there is the beautiful brightness of hope in the distance. My leg is finally healing to the point that I feel hopeful and things are starting to look bright again… thanks for all your encouragement, friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Emily, thank you very much, I’m glad this lifts your spirit! Yes, there is some brightness in the distance, all is not dark. I’m very glad to hear that your leg is on the mend – please take things carefully, don’t overstretch its returning strengths. Adrian

      Like

  4. Wow! And that’s my expert opinion.😁 xxx ATP

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great photo, in your typical style. I love the dark areas that leave a lot to the imagination of the viewer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Philip, thank you, I very much value your views. I’m glad the dark areas get to you; especially with this sort of shot, trying to show everything would be a distraction I think. Adrian

      Like

  6. paula graham says:

    Exploding shells are the Inn Thing these days, but you managed a much more agreeable, attractive, even desirable one.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, thank you! >>> but you will have to drag me (probably kicking and screaming) into the world of what is Inn and what is Out because, really, I don’t have a clue! But if I’m at the cutting edge, well, but oh my, its sharp out here … and what was that line from Apocalypse Now? … “a snail crawling along the edge of a straight razor” .. very appropriate, really.

      As I say, I may have been influenced by last year’s Remembrance, I don’t know, but I’ve looked at others of my Levels landscapes too and been struck by this interpretation – no explanation! Adrian

      Like

  7. athyfoto says:

    That is a beautiful exposure Adrian. Two of my favourite subjects, winter trees and skies. I’m right there soaking it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sheldonk2014 says:

    I can see the resemblance to what you are saying great shot

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you can, Sheldon, that’s reassuring – thank you! Why I should think such things I don’t know – was I a soldier on a battlefield in another life, or have I simply been watching too many war films or World War One remembrance programmes??? Who knows?! Adrian

      Like

  9. Sue Vincent says:

    Lovely shot, Adrian. I love the softness of the colour behind the sharp silhouettes.

    Like

  10. karijeppesen says:

    Love it so much, Adrian!! My first image of the day was yours…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Constance, thank you very much! I see you’re excited to be living an expat life – I know the feeling, I was an expat myself many years ago although I’m back near where I grew up now. Thank you again. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

