SOMERSET LEVELS 200 – CROW OVER STUBBLE FIELD (MONO)

 

Crow over stubble field
.
Carrion Crow taking off from a field of stubble on Westhay Moor; 27 Nov 2014.

I have a great liking for crows in general.  They are large, noisy and very successful opportunists, and to have one here standing on my desk – or perched on my shoulder – as I compose this post would certainly be one of Life’s good experiences.

Driving on Westhay Moor, I came upon a great field of stubble, with a black crow standing alone in it.  The crow was quite far off, I had a big telephoto ready on the seat beside me, I could visualise a picture of this black bird amongst the pale stubble, the car window was already down, and I brought the car very quietly to a gentle halt.

But despite all of these things I underestimated my dear darling and, even at that substantial range, as soon as I’d stopped the car, he started waddling uneasily away and, as I raised the lens – which he may well have thought a shotgun barrel – he started hopping away and, before I could say knife, he was airborne.

Loud expletives filled the car but, remembering my camera’s good autofocus and up for the challenge, I started firing, panning the camera to keep up with this fleeing being.

And what have I ended up with?  Well, pin sharp it isn’t, although the wingtip feathers could be far more blurred, but its the bird silhouetted – with its feet still dangling from having just leapt up into the air.  Its flying just above the pale lines of stubble (which tend to bewilder my eyes when I look at them), and there are a pale gate and darker flanking fences in the backdrop, and a hint of trees further back again.  Its an impression of the scene and I like the effect, and so its presented here.

And this is my 200th post from the Somerset Levels, a part of England that I love very much, and I feel good about that.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Antique Portrait preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 200 – CROW OVER STUBBLE FIELD (MONO)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Nice, again, I like the creamy colour.
    Making plans for the end seems sort of comforting, but I don’t have a favourite resting place as such… I don’t seem to have found it yet… I have however, let it be known that I would like none of this wearing of black and sad faces, I would like a party with everyone enjoying themselves.
    No flowers either, donations towards a bench maybe, not to be placed in a park, or with a beautiful view, there are already plenty of those, but to be placed half way up a hill where it can be used to stop and catch a breath or two before continuing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      The creaminess is a tone, which I’ve used quite a lot – it often looks better, to me, than plain black and white.

      I’m right with you re the wearing of black and the sad faces – I mean, let’s have a little imagination for a change, not people just doing the same old thing because its always been done! And I like your ideas about the bench; and you’ve made me think about the flowers thing too. Good stuff, Hallysann! A 🙂

      Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Ha, ha, I am not fond of them serenading me at 5 am right outside my bedroom window! Your photo, I like , particularly that you have that gate and fence in the background..compliments the whole feeling of the photo very well.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      That’s good to hear, my friend, thank you >>> but the gate and fence are fortuitous >>> at the speed I was firing I had no time to think of anything except trying to keep focus on the bird! A

      Like

  3. sheldonk2014 says:

    It has a deconstructed feel to it great shot and color.

    Like

  4. 200? You DO love it there!

    xxx ATP

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I do, and as I’ve just mentioned to Meanderer, I’m planning on it being my last resting place. I was there again at dawn yesterday – rather unnerving amounts of water around, lots of flooded fields, and the sun glinting on yet more floods off in the distance. ATP xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Meanderer says:

    I just saw this as I was browsing the reader and was wowed by it immediately. Wonderful image, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      M, thank you very much! OK, things to say. First, if you’re wowed, would you like a jpeg to add to your jpeggery???

      Second, I was down on the Levels at dawn (OMG!!!) yesterday, but am still contemplating the carnage … I mean images …

      And third, since I like Tealham and Tadham Moors so much and always feel so at peace there, I am starting making plans to have my last resting place somewhere in that area. I talked to some friends down there yesterday and they were – well, enthusiastic is not really the word, is it? – friendly and very willing to help, puts it better! Just how morbid and gloomy can I get??? And no, before you ask, I have not been diagnosed with anything awful, I am just being me, ie thinking around things. A

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meanderer says:

        It’s not morbid or gloomy. I know, it’s difficult to talk about such things because there is social pressure on us to be upbeat and happyhappyhappy. I’m much more interested in what makes us whole – so the dark bits as well as the light. Yes – you need to let people know what you want; it’s important.

        The image is wonderful and gives a feeling of freedom.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Yes, you’re right, social pressure to be upbeat and HAPPY!!!!! >>> maybe via an unending diet of football, Strictly Come Dancing and the X-Factor … apologies for spoiling your day with that … try vomiting … it’ll make you feel better …

          But, massive cliché or adage or watchword or something, Life is not a bowl of cherries and, I agree, understanding the dark side is important. And thanks for endorsing my last wishes thing – thinking about it opens the mind a bit. One thing is, being a geologist and interested in astronomy too, I have a clear idea of how small and fleeting we are, and I’m sure that influences my thoughts.

          Glad you like the image. Last call for a jpeg … oh I’m just going to send you one … move on down the bus please … 😉 ….

          Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

