PEOPLE 194 – BOYS AT A WEDDING (MONO)

 

 

Boys at a wedding
.
Young boys – curious, uncertain –  at a wedding near Thika, Kenya, in the late 1970s.

I think I was the only non-African at this ceremony, and so an object of great curiosity to all the youngsters there.

There is another image from this wedding here.

OM-2 with 75-150 Zuiko; Kodak Ektachrome 200 colour slide (I think!); Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Landscape preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to PEOPLE 194 – BOYS AT A WEDDING (MONO)

  1. I wish I could get invited to a wedding like that. I’ve been to church when things were similar and the going ons were intensive, but this looks like you got the best of them. Great work

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I seem to recall that I was invited to the wedding by the bride and, that being the case, I was very much at home. That is something that I would say about Africans, having lived there for 12 years – they were always very hospitable – and with a wonderful sense of humour too! I very much enjoyed my time there. Thank you for your good words. A

      Like

  2. Both images are intense. Very nice, A.
    xxx ATP

    Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    Ah, I wondered if it was the same wedding. 🙂
    Young boys the world over seem to hold so much curiosity and mischief. 😀

    Like

  4. Malin H says:

    This is a strong image, Adrian! I’m very touched by the boys expression… Great work as usual!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Malin, thank you very much! Yes, their expressions; and also their body language, the self-hugging of the boy on the left, and the other’s frown and poised hand – he doesn’t know what to make of me (who can blame him???) and his hand is frozen as he frowns and thinks. I hope you are recovering from your two recent traumas, my friend. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  5. nonoymanga says:

    i like the drama!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

