KENYA 70 – TABLE DECORATION

 

 

Table decoration
.
Conversation piece on my Nairobi dining table; Nov 1979.

I would like to be able to say that all of the evenings chez moi were black tie and that, as the port decanter made its rounds, this little charmer made the conversation hum and buzz.  But, well, you know … 😉 …

The reality was that, because I was writing a book at the time, my large dining table was perpetually covered in piles of maps, books and papers, together with a portable typewriter (remember typewriters???), a little space where my plate could go when I wanted to eat – and a pot plant that was home to this beauty for awhile.

Tripod-mounted OM-1 with 50mm Zuiko; extension tubes or close up lenses; Agfa CT18 colour slide, rated at 64 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to KENYA 70 – TABLE DECORATION

  1. Good old typewriters… still have two of them. Wishing you a wonderfully happy and creative New Year, Adrian – all the best 🙂

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    What a lovely memory, Adrian. It conjures up all sorts of images in my mind. What became of the book?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you enjoy this, my friend. The book is my magnum octopus as Baldrick would phrase it – A Bird Atlas of Kenya – its on google. It took something like 8 or 9 years of travelling, research and writing, all pre-computers in that part of the world of course, and I suppose it was the biggest thing in my birdwatching “career”. It didn’t sell hugely, was remaindered, and is now rare and commanding higher prices. I’m very proud of it and, at times, can’t believe that I managed to do it! A

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meanderer says:

        Wonderful, Adrian! You kept that quiet didn’t you?! I looked it up and saw what you mean about high prices. Any more talents to reveal …….?

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          No, I have mentioned the Atlas on this blog from time to time; and I also wrote a little book about Kenyan mammals, their lifestyles and how they fit in to mammals worldwide, and how/where to see them on safaris; and the Afrotropical (ie sub-Saharan Africa) chapter in a book on birds of the world. And then quite a lot of stuff published by the East African Natural History Society.

          Long ago I found writing difficult but I have enjoyed it for a long time now – and in a way I enjoy producing the writing in this blog as much as I do the images – and so to the Talking Images posts. A

          Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    Clickety click click, I remember my little typewriter well. it was a metal mustard coloured one with a black case which clicked over the top to make it portable.
    I remember typing the letter ‘o’ over and over again to make the title pages for school projects.

    ooooo
    oooooo
    oo oo
    oo
    ooooo
    ooooo
    oo
    oo oo
    oooooo
    oooo

    It doesn’t quite work on here though, the spaces are a different size to the letters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      The spaces may be different sizes to the … well I’d complain about it if I were you …. and if you find yourself with any free time pre-complaint or post being locked up … well there’s always “I’m a little teapot, short and stout …” … 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. sheldonk2014 says:

    Insectville and a place for them to play, isn’t that special

    Like

  5. Sue Vincent says:

    Sounds like my desk, Adrian. Happy new year to you.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

