ARCHIVE 113 – 1970s ANEMONES, PAST THEIR BEST

 

 

Anemone
.

Anemones, going over and past their best, photographed in Bristol in the late 1970s.

Although its over 30 years ago, I can still remember being attracted by the colours, and the fact that these blooms were starting to deteriorate.  And I had a tripod, and time on my hands.

The thoughts that I had about these images then are still with me now.  To me, the upper photo is a portrait of a living being, with a dark hat or hair of feathers or something, and he/she/it is looking straight at me – confrontationally maybe.  There is some falloff of focus at upper left in the lower shot, but what gets to me here are the sheens, textures and colours on the tumbling and convoluted surfaces of those dying petals.

Tripod-mounted Olympus OM-1 with the ? 75-150 Zuiko? lens, plus extension tubes or close up lenses; Agfa CT18 colour slides, rated at 64 ISO to further saturate colour.

.

ADL253X

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to ARCHIVE 113 – 1970s ANEMONES, PAST THEIR BEST

  1. paula graham says:

    Interesting post and photos. All best wishes to you

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    I like the first picture… an eruption from a snowy topped pink mountain. 🙂

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Past their best, maybe, but still so beautiful. The colours are lovely and draw one in. Ah – the 70s. I’ve been in 70s nostalgia mode for a few weeks now, having watched a few old sit-coms and a documentary on 1970s darts. A bit sad really but sometimes a bit of nostalgia does us good.

    By the way – you are my top commenter for 2014 – the same as previous years! I thank you very much for your in-depth considered comments and your continued support. Wishing you and your family a Wonderful New Year, Adrian. All the very best.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like these, M – they were shot in my mum’s flat, long ago. But 70s nostalgia for weeks???!!! Wow! Nothing wrong with nostalgia, unless its gets too rose-coloured- spectacleslike >>> I look back on some wild places with nostalgia, and beautiful and wonderful they undoubtedly were – but whether it was geology, birdwatching or safaris, I have to remind myself that it was often hard, thirsty and dirty going!

      Your top commenter? – well prolix I always was, I’m right and therefore I am .. or, rather, I write and therefore I am … sorry … tiny slip there … >>> but I write about what I see, and its all from the keyboard, I mean heart … 🙂 …..

      Thanks for your good wishes >>> a very good 2015 to you two too – I hope your disturbing vortexes are things of the past. A

      Like

  4. sheldonk2014 says:

    It’s almost a deconstruct flower the way you shot it. I love the color it truly speaks the wonders of nature

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I know exactly what you mean by deconstruct – I like to get in close with many living subjects, having them either filling the frame (to remove other distractions) or showing only parts of them – many of my bird photos would be cases in point here. To me, these flowers would have appeared less striking had I stood back and photographed them all together.

      And if you’re into the wonders of nature – then I’m right there with you! Many thanks for your thoughts! A

      Like

    • sheldonk2014 says:

      Have a good one my friend and all the wonderment of nature

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

