SOMERSET LEVELS 199 – FOGGY MORNING: MINIMALISM, REALITY AND UNREALITY (MONO)

 

 

Tealham Moor, early morning and fog
.
Early morning and fog on Tealham Moor, south of Wedmore; 27 Nov 2014.

A low key and Minimalist landscape, yet still with things to see.

REALITY

A water-filled ditch leads off into the misty distance.  To the right, the light catches small puddles along the tarmacked Totney Drove, producing low highlights that add a line to the image that converges with that of the waterway.

As these converging lines reach a horizon that has been brought unnaturally close to us by the fog, single trees rise up on either side of the drove, and to the right of them there is some fencing.  The top of the left hand tree is reflected in the ditch’s still water.

The trees, especially that on the left, have peculiar shapes, with very abrupt, vertical profiles where they face onto the small road.  This is due to their having been trimmed by large and powerful cutters mounted vertically on tractors – a quick and cheap way of keeping roads open.  But the tree on the left in particular spreads out above this shorn profile – its upper branches are above the cutters’ powerful reach.

UNREALITY

So, there’s the reality, but in my (currently sober) mind there’s more than that.  You may well have your own visions that are different from mine but, to me, those trees conjure two unrealities. 

First, and doubtless deriving from the recent World War I commemorations, this is a dark battlefield of that era, shaking under the impact of two artillery shells.

And then second, more comfortable perhaps but also far more far fetched, these trees are two beings, the one on the left closest, making their way over this early morning moor, conscious of the day’s lightening – and pausing as they catch sight of me.

There are other images of this dark morning here and here, and a high key image here.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 70mm; 12,800 ISO; Dfine 2; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Low Key 2 preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

23 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 199 – FOGGY MORNING: MINIMALISM, REALITY AND UNREALITY (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    This makes me think of the ents from the “Lord of the Rings”.
    Absolutely fantastic image, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh, bring on the Ents, they are something I would really like to see! And, yes, maybe I did have them at the back of my mind when I wrote about this image. I’m a great “LoR” fan, and very interested in and enthusiastic about Anglo-Saxon times in both the UK and northern Europe. To me, the Norman conquest of England was an awful event.

      I’m glad the picture gets to you, Malin – and I hope very much that you’re having a good Christmas! Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sallyann says:

    I may be wrong, but I get the impression of the being taking the lead… carrying an umbrella.? 🙂

    Like

  3. I like the second explanation. Comfortable, tho far fetched. 😉

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    Methinks it’s high time to leave the Wellies in the mud room, put your feet up by the fire, and have a wee dram–and let lighter thoughts ease their way in. Happy solstice, Adrian!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, happy solstice to you too – tho I’m a day late! We have had some problems here of late and the darkening days have not helped, so the rebirth of the King of Light comes as a distinct happiness – six months of lengthening days to look forward to! Feet up with a wee dram sounds just the thing! A very good Christmas and New Year to you! Adrian

      Like

  5. Love those “walking trees”… your imagination = my imagination 🙂 !! Happy holidays, Adrian, to you and yours !!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh that’s so good to know, Henrietta! I believe in giving my imagination full rein but sometimes think that I end up a little too far out – so knowing there’s a kindred spirit far out there with me is very welcome!

      I just looked at those two trees in the photo this morning, and thought “They’re hurrying up over the moor because the day is getting lighter, but they’ve spotted me and now they’re stopped, unsure what to do ..”. Its a dream of course, a fantasy of mine – and if it were to come true I would probably be terrified out of my skin! – but to me its important to think things like that, its a part of retaining the childlike sense of wonder that is such an important and valuable thing for each and every person.

      Thank you for your good wishes – the very same to you and your’s!!! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  6. sheldonk2014 says:

    I try to put a twist back on the bag after I use it , I just can’t help myself to leave it open

    Like

  7. karijeppesen says:

    …yes, yes, yes… Oh, I love them so much…foggy landscapes… hmmm…
    Thank you, Adrian! and have a lovely sunday…

    Like

  8. sheldonk2014 says:

    It looks like a photo for years gone by. It’s great almost could an illustration from a story. Great work

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

