PEOPLE 192 – LUO WOMEN ON A FARM IN WESTERN KENYA

 

 

Luo women
.
Luo women on a farm near Akala, in the far west of Kenya; April 1979.

OM-1 with 50mm Zuiko; Agfa CT18 colour slide, rated at 64 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to PEOPLE 192 – LUO WOMEN ON A FARM IN WESTERN KENYA

  1. Sallyann says:

    Ahh, we’ve met the lady on the left before. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      You’ve got a good memory, my friend – she was sitting with her boyfriend, and I was trying out various crops on the image – if MY memory serves me right!!! >>> PEOPLE 75? and also in KENYA 7 >>> and is she on my blog’s front page too????????????????

      Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Your certainly showed us the dignity and pride these women have.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sheldonk2014 says:

    I have a way with creativity myself, my blog is still evolving. My satisfaction is yet to be discovered because I lack camera skills. I am from the school of diving into the deep water then learn how to swim. It’s rough but I done this all my life. You have a way with the camera. Great work.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you for your good words, Sheldon, they’re encouraging and good to hear! And you’re jumping in at the deep end with photography – well, in these digital days, seeing how a picture looks immediately after its been taken is a great thing – and something that should help you “swim” quite a lot! I like your images, you have a very original take on things. Adrian

      Like

  4. sheldonk2014 says:

    These women are talking to the camera. There is a definite air about them. You have caught something here. Great work

    I

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Sheldon, thank you for this insight – though I say so myself, I think you are right. In those days, I was an out and out birder, and I had travelled to western Kenya, far off the tourist track, to look for seldom seen birds. My travelling companion and guide was a man who worked for me, and whose father’s farm we were staying on.

      Hence, although I spoke no luo and, in those days, very little swahili, I was by no means a stranger or tourist there – and my companion was the perfect interpreter. These women were I think related, maybe even sisters, and the one on the left was my companion’s girlfriend. And, like everyone there, they were curious to see this European who was so interested in birds – and they were (mostly) very willing to be photographed.

      So, yes, I wasn’t starting my photography there from “stone cold”, I wasn’t a complete stranger, I was already interacting in a friendly and humorous way with people, and that may have contributed to the easy directness – with a hint of humour – with which these two are facing the camera. And, also, its was a little camera too, an OM-1 with a standard lens, not some large and intimidating SLR. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

