Facebook User Rights – NONE – I’m out

Andy Beel is a photographer and blogging colleague of mine here in south Bristol. He has serious concerns about changes that have been made to Facebook’s rules and regulations. I don’t use Facebook but maybe some of you do – you might want to read this. Adrian

Andy Beel FRPS

Pass this on if you want to protect your identity and Intellectual property published to facebook.

Facebook has decided it has the right without consultings its users to be able sell your identity and pictures with no redress.

You probably had an email recently about the changes, You like me did not read it.

See the link below

http://photofocus.com/2013/09/09/facebook-changes-terms-of-service-photogs-be-wary/

I will not be publishing to Facebook again.

View original post

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

4 Responses to Facebook User Rights – NONE – I’m out

  1. bananabatman says:

    I’ve never liked the Facebook setup Adrian, so rarely upload any photos to the Facebook site. I do, however, ‘publicise’ my WordPress posts via Facebook, really so that my family and friends can see them. This begs the question, can Facebook lay claim to use images shown on Facebook via that link? I guess it is no big deal since I’m not creating anything that could be much value to them. It’s just a matter of principle.

    Andy’s original post made me think, but I suspect that I may carry on as usual. My images have no monetary value to me, but I’d hate it if someone else could capitalise on them.

    Identity is another issue, but I don’t think I give much away on Facebook.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’d thought of publicising via Facebook, but only got as far as doing it via Twitter.

      Yes, it is a matter of principle – but I’ve managed to get to the frame of mind where I wouldn’t mind if others capitalise on my pictures. Its true that I rarely post anything above middle quality versions, but if anyone were to capitalise on them, that’s life. What really matters to me is creating them – I derive huge creative satisfaction from that – and then making hard copies of them via Blurb.com, so that I can see them in book form.

      Many thanks for your thoughts, Dave. Adrian

      Like

  2. I did get it but did not read it. Thanks, A. 👍❤️ ATP

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

