KENYA 66 – SUNRISE OVER MAASAI MARA 1

 

 

Sunrise over Maasai Mara 1
.
Sunrise over the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, southwest Kenya; Nov 1977.

Well, a 37 year old colour transparency that resided for over a decade in the heat and humidity of the tropics.  The colours are altering slightly, a little too much purple or mauve in there now, I think. 

But does this matter, is this important?

I could refrain from posting this image because it is no longer a totally accurate representation of the scene – or simply enjoy it for what it now is. 

To me, the former option would be far more than a tad puritanical, somewhere along a long road to nowhere perhaps.  Somewhere I never want to be.

OM-1 with 28mm Zuiko; Agfa CT18 colour slide, rated at 64 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to KENYA 66 – SUNRISE OVER MAASAI MARA 1

  1. Malin H says:

    “But does this matter, is this important?” – No!

    So beautiful… and meditative.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Malin, my friend, thank you for agreeing – and for your good words too. Your latest assignment worked very well I thought, a very varied and interesting response. I hope you’re fine. Adrian

      Like

  2. magrelinhos says:

    Memories get altered by time, too, but we don’t dispose of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Meanderer says:

    It’s beautiful. Let’s all enjoy it just as it is, now.

    Like

  4. Well worth posting. Stunning.
    Hope you are well
    Best to E.
    ❤️

    Like

  5. bananabatman says:

    It was well worth posting Adrian. A lovely sunrise, colour accuracy or not. I’ve noticed that your slides seem to have survived much better than mine.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Dave, thanks for the endorsement, thank you. Regarding the slides, were you also using Agfa? Although I must say that I would have thought Kodak would have the upper hand in such longevity matters. Also, of course, there’s the environment in which the slides have been stored – light, warmth and humidity are the big enemies here. Adrian

      Like

      • bananabatman says:

        Adrian, I started using mainly Agfa, but migrated towards Kodachrome. I’m not sure which gave me the biggest problem when I tried to copy them. I suspect that my problems were mainly caused by simple storage abuse, as you suggest (probably warmth & humidity). Simple dust and dirt was another problem. When trying to do a ‘production run’ it’s not always easy to clean each slide. Maybe, if I get the time, I’ll take another look at some of the slides that I haven’t already digitised. 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          By ‘production run’ I’m not sure whether you mean that you put more than one slide into the scanner at a time. I used a slide scanner that would only hold and process one slide at a time, and so was able to look closely at the cleanliness of each one. A

          Like

          • bananabatman says:

            I really just meant ‘intensive slide copying session’ Adrian. The last time I copied slides I did it using my (at that time) Sony bridge camera on macro, with the slide sitting in a homemade holder, backlit from my scanner’s slide copying attachment. This reduced the time taken for each slide considerably, and did produce pretty good results. I’ve never owned a dedicated slide scanner, but when I looked at them several years ago, they weren’t that fast. I guess that my haste did have a detrimental affect on the final product. Dave

            Like

  6. paula graham says:

    I do not think it matters at all in this case (nor in most cases!)

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

