ARCHIVE 107 – SUNSET AT BARINGO

 

 

ADL263X
.
Sunset at Lake Baringo, in Kenya’s rift valley; June 1980.

The sunlit, western edge of the clouds makes a powerful diagonal that bisects the frame, and starkly contrasts with the cloudless sky to the west and the darker, unlit bulk of the clouds to the east.  Colour makes this shot; it is far less effective in monochrome.

OM-1 with 28mm Zuiko; Agfa CT 18 colour slide rated at 64 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to ARCHIVE 107 – SUNSET AT BARINGO

  1. Meanderer says:

    Ah – those wondrous big skies again; how awesome. I very much enjoy seeing your images from your time in Kenya.

    Like

  2. From the time I’ve spent in Kenya, I remember the sky as being very eventful.

    Like

  3. Ominous, but beautiful. xxx ATP ❤️

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    What a wonderful place to have been. Amazing photo..so well seen again, even all that time ago you had a good ‘eye’ already.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, wonderful it was, Paula. I miss Kenya and its wild country very much. I’ve been seeing visually striking things from as far back in my life as I can remember. Before I realised what this meant, I would be struck by them, and would stare at them in a bewildered way. Now I understand that I have an eye for such things, which would seem to have been inherited from my paternal grandmother, who was an artistic and creative sort of person. She is also my cousin’s maternal grandmother and, although near the end of things now, he became an artist. Glad you like the picture, thank you! Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

