SOMERSET LEVELS 188 – HEDGEROW (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

Hedgerow
.
Autumn hedgerow beside Hurn Drove, northwest of Polsham;  28 Oct 2014.

Hurn Drove is off the beaten track.  Its a little, single track back road beside the similarly small River Sheppey, along the edges of Ash Moor.

This hedge consisted mainly of thin, bare wooden stems, which can be diffusely seen in the background here.  But out in front there was a single branch still bearing a few leaves, and with some beautiful pink twigs.

The shot looks from this front twig back through the bare stems behind it, and out into the field beyond, which has been cooled by the addition of a pale blue tone.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 3200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Cool Tones 1 preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 188 – HEDGEROW (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Very very nice 🙂 Great composition and I love the subtle colour.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lisa, that’s good to hear >>> thank you very much indeed! The NE USA is getting horrendous snowfalls – hope this doesn’t mean another v wet winter for us! Enjoy your Spring!!! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  2. I like th little splash of color. Very nice. xxx ATP

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Adrian,I do like this photo lots, most people would not have spotted the potential of such a simple scene, I like the composition and the processing are just right. Again , it demonstrates one does not have to go to the other side of the world to find good subjects. You show that over and over again.

    By the way..when I suggested in another post that I was against layers ..I am not!! I use them all the time..I probably did not express properly what I meant..eternal failing of mine: I have nothing against processing a photo till you get what you intended, nor against multiple exposures in camera,…what I am not sure off is adding bits of other photos to it, to create an additional and possibly more pleasing effect that does not belong to the original photo , I am also not saying that, when sensitively and expertly done, it does not create something very appealing but…and here come the debate!!! I shall never mention it again!! Probably try and do it myself! Please tell me off if I speak out of order or delete the post!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, I’m very glad you like the picture. I might have said this before, but with things like this its really a case of trying to stay receptive to one’s surroundings, and of really looking at one’s surroundings – instead of just giving them the cursory, sweeping glances that most people use.

      This may partly result from my having been a birdwatcher for 30 years – and from taking people on safari in Kenya – in both instances, I had to really look in detail at my surroundings, trying to pick out camouflaged and often small entities.

      But, now, on this blog there’s NOTHING like “speaking out of order” – say what you think, and if I disagree I’ll say so – as I did. Neither of us was right or wrong, we simply have different opinions.

      I never add photos together because its simply not something I feel the need to do. But others do, and I think I can divide such additions into two. First, there are for example instances where photographers insert “new” skies into shots with bland skies, to pep them up. Personally, I wouldn’t want to do this – somehow I wouldn’t feel that the result, however good it might look, was real or true. And when I see such compilations from someone else – compilations that are meant to resemble reality – I feel the same.

      But second there is something like Karen’s picture, where she has superimposed two or more images without in the slightest claiming that the result depicts reality >>> and she has come up with something stunning >>> and I’m all admiration – she is a true artist.

      So, Paula, don’t agonise! One thing that blogging has taught me is that we’re all different. Thanks for your thoughts! Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Meanderer says:

    Love this. The pastel tones are really appealing and provide a wonderful backdrop for the branch in the foreground. I could look at this for ages.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

