TALKING IMAGES 3 – HELPING A YOUNG PHOTOGRAPHER OUT

 

IMG_2505aWarmTonePaperX

.

I strongly believe in helping people – especially young people – with getting into and enjoying photography; and blogging too for that matter.

.

And recently, during one of my trawls through WordPress’s Freshly Pressed, I encountered Abigail, who is studying Mass Communications in a polytechnic in Singapore.  Talk about being there at the beginning of things! >>> this post was her first photography assignment for her school, and her first WordPress photography post – you can find it here.

.

I like her pictures and said so – especially the one of the big, pink-petalled flower and blurred background, and the one of the great, frame-filling flower with yellow and orange petals.  And I said that if she had any queries about photography or blogging, I would try to answer them.

.

So she asked if I could make any recommendations regarding a camera suitable for beginners in photography – and I promised to put out a post to all you fellow photographers and bloggers out there, asking for your advice on this. 

.

Please do take the time to make even a brief response – you will certainly be helping a young photographer out!  >>> do you know of a camera that might suit Abigail, whether or not you use it yourself?  What makes it good for her, what makes it suitable????????

.

Here’s relevant context.  Abigail has a budget of up to 600 Singapore dollars, which is about £300 UK or $480 US.  She’d like a smallish camera, nothing too bulky, and she’s into photographing anything and everything, while finding herself being slightly drawn towards macro work.

.

OK, what do I think?  My view of today’s camera market is quite restricted (blinkered might better describe it!) because I’m ok with the big Nikons and the little Canon G11.  But I know there are now many excellent, smallish cameras out there now – not the “compacts of old”, but small cameras with good quality and a lot of potential – Compact System Cameras and that sort of thing.

.

So, smallish, and with close focusing abilities.  I’d suggest something with a zoom lens to give greater flexibility, and maybe not an interchangeable lens model.

.

All I can personally suggest is the entry level Nikon D3200 with the 18-55mm kit lens, which can be bought for £280 here.  But this does not fit in with all of the criteria I’ve mentioned above and it may well NOT be the best idea – but can any of you chip in with thoughts about cameras from Canon, Fuji, Panasonic, Sony, Samsung, Olympus, Pentax, etc?????

.

LET’S HEAR FROM YOU – ANY HINTS WILL BE OF USE!!!

.

Many thanks! 

.

Adrian

.

.

.

 

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to TALKING IMAGES 3 – HELPING A YOUNG PHOTOGRAPHER OUT

  1. bananabatman says:

    As you know Adrian, I’m a fan of Olympus. Whether an entry level DSLR or CSC would be suitable rather depends on how quickly Abigail’s budget increases. I wonder whether a Bridge Camera would be more suitable. How about the Olympus Stylus SP100, which I think meets her budget. I have no personal experience of it, but it might be worth reading the reviews. If not, there are many other good Bridge cameras about, which should be in that price range, and which will handle most of her requirements. The Olympus OM-D E-M10 is a great camera, but may be a little too expensive and would need a ‘follow up’ budget.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Dave, many thanks for adding your thoughts here, I very much appreciate it! A bridge camera might well be the thing – for a start there would be no need to buy lenses. I’m glad that people have added their views here – I wondered if there would be any replies! Thank you again. Adrian

      Like

  2. Emily Gooch says:

    I have not use any other DSLR camera besides my NikonD90. I did a research on your suggestion of D3200 and after comparing the specs with the D90, I think it would be a great beginner’s camera for Abigail. The D3200 has twice the resolution and all the functions as my camera. I think for the price, the D3200 is of great value.

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Well done, Adrian..your selfie is wonderful!…I had a look at her post and posted something.
    About cameras….I know nothing..I have had my stuff for 5 years now, and never study anybody elses. So cannot help there.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, thank you for visiting Abigail’s blog, that’s an encouragement. But re cameras I’m like you – I know there are new and exciting things out there, but I am, at least for the moment, happy using the gear I have. Glad you like the selfie – my reflection in a shop window I think. Thanks again. Adrian

      Like

  4. Carrie says:

    Hi Adrian, I am a newbie photographer too and have a Sony Cybershot that I use for all of my images at the moment. It is old though, and starting to really show its wear. I am in the market, like Abigail for a new camera. I LOVE macro work and I have been doing a lot of research. I thought I wanted to go for a larger camera with the ability to switch lenses.

    But, now I am leaning towards the Sony RX100. It is $448.00 U.S. on amazon and I have read great reviews, especially for its macro work. I am just saving up now, hopefully it will be mine by the first of the year. Here is a quote that sums it up pretty well “The RX100 is probably the most capable compact camera on the market today, combining the image quality benefits of a mid-sized sensor with the proportions of a conventional compact. Extensive, though not flawless, manual controls make the RX100 a great second camera for DSLR shooters.”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi Carrie – thanks for this, its really useful stuff and absolutely relevant to Abigail’s needs – and its within her budget I think – tho she said today that items like cameras are expensive in Singapore. Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it. Adrian 🙂

      Like

  5. Hi! I love compact cameras. I am using a Fuji (x100s) now which is fantastic but I also would like to recommend Panasonic. I have been using a LUMIX DMC-TZ8 for some years (not so often currently) and it has been a ver good purchase and companion. Some of my favourite images were taken with a Nikon L4 and an old toy camera, sometimes the price of the camera is not a guarantee of the final result (or the butterflies in your stomach).
    Hope you get what you want Abigail. Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Montserrat, thank you very much for this useful input. The Fuji is above Abigail’s price range I think, but the Lumix is fine – I’ve also heard good reports of this camera. And you’re right about price not guaranteeing good shots – its the person behind the camera that makes the difference! Thank you again. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I very much like the effect of your self portrait here. And the long photo which you have named for me before, but I forgot, of course! You always use it so effectively. Do you follow Rob Ainslie? “The Photographic Journey of Bulldog” on WP? He uses a cheap Fujifilm camera. If you aren’t familiar with his work, look at the photos on his blog! I asked him about his camera and his new one is this one:

    Fujifilm FinePix HS50EXR Digital Camera

    16MP 1/2″ EXR CMOS II Sensor; Fujinon 42x Optical Manual Zoom Lens
    35mm Equivalent Focal Length: 24-1000mm; 3.0″ 920k-Dot Vari-Angle LCD Monitor
    EXR Processor II; Intelligent Hybrid AF System
    ISO 100-12800; Full HD 1080p Video at 60fps

    I looked it up on Amazon. You can get a very good bundle for about $400. The fujifilm cameras are good cameras. Annie Leibovitz owns one! My first camera was a Fuji.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      George, its good to hear from you, and thank you for this detail! The format of my selfie is “vertical letterbox” – haha! don’t worry about forgetting I do it all the time too!

      This looks a good and suitable camera for Abigail, George – enough pixels; the zoom is huge; the variangle monitor is very useful (the Nikon D3200 doesn’t have that). $400 US for a bundle looks good.

      George, I’m going to talk to Abigail here for one moment: Abigail, why not take a look at the WordPress blog George mentions here? You might find inspiration for both images and a camera there.

      George, thank you very much for this very useful input. As always, my friend, I hope you’re comfortable and happy. Adrian

      Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      George – how are you getting on, my friend? Just to let you know that the Fujifilm FinePix HS50EXR is the camera that Abigail is hoping to get >>> so thanks for your very useful input! All good wishes from me! Adrian xxx

      Like

  7. Abigail says:

    Thank you for the help! I took a look at the Nikon D3200, read up some reviews and it seems to be a great camera to start with. The price though was $100 over my budget (I’ve completely forgotten what an expensive country Singapore is). I’ll hang around, and hopefully I’ll be able to find a more affordable alternative. If nothing comes up, I’m taking your recommendation 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi Abigail! Well, I’m a Nikon user and so I’m biased – they don’t always get things 100% right, but I’m a big fan of their cameras and lenses. The basic, cheap “kit” lens that the D3200 comes with is a 18-55mm, which has Nikon’s anti-shake system called Vibration Reduction, which is very good at subduing camera shake.

      This is a DX format lens, which means that its focal lengths must be multiplied by 1.5 to find out what they are in “real”, 35mm photography terms – ask your polytech teachers what all that means!!!

      In 35mm terms, the lens goes from (18×1.5) = 27mm moderate wideangle to (55×1.5) = 77mm low telephoto. It focuses down to 28cm, which is not true macro but is close in.

      But let’s also see if anyone else has any other ideas – there’s a detailed comment waiting to be approved on my blog right now – it’ll appear in a moment. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

