Dark Leaves

An intensely beautiful, haunting image from Karen McRae. OK, its a composite of more than one photo, its probably not what you would have seen had you been there. But, in the presence of such beauty and atmosphere, such considerations are wholly superfluous. Adrian

draw and shoot

The-Birds-Like-Leaves1
Even as I was in the car driving I could hear the lot of them. They were congregated across the high trees. Arguing. Falling like dark leaves from the branches as they took turns plundering the cornfields. Tiny seeds in greedy black beaks.

[A flock of common fabulous grackles layered with a multiple exposure of trees]
© Karen McRae, 2014

View original post

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to Dark Leaves

  1. Helen Cherry says:

    Art is art and this is definitely art in my eyes.. I LOVE it ! there is room for everything…

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Sorry, I clicked the wrong ‘like’ button

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Yes, I had seen that one..she is very talented with her layering in Photoshop, very artistic. I like it a lot, at the same time I feel that if you feel the need to make paintings from your photos..theres is something wrong with photography. If, however it is done with double or treble exposures in Camera..another matter..THAT is photography at its most artistic.
    This debate rages on and on!!!! What do you feel?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I disagree, my friend, we’re not going to agree on this issue! A core belief of mine regarding photography can be put in two different ways – “If it looks good it is good”, and “The end always justifies the means”.

      By which I mean that whatever processes have been used to generate an image, if the end product looks good, then that’s all that matters. And so, to me, whether something has been generated in camera or not is immaterial. To put it another way, its not a question of some skill or craft being or not being used, its a question of what the end product looks like.

      I don’t use such layering techniques and I’ve hardly ever used multiple exposures, but this is not because I view them as in some way intrinsically wrong or false, but rather that I just never seem to get around to using them. I’m sure I could do more with Photoshop and its layers if I tried, but the Silver and Color Efex programmes do me very nicely at the moment.

      But I’ve said many times on this blog, re my (and others’) images, that if I can get a photo to start looking like its not a photo, I feel that I’m starting to get somewhere. Not with all images of course, but certainly with some.

      As you say, the debate rages on – as it is bound to do if we agree that we are all different >>> and photo mags love it because it fills their column inches! Thanks for your thoughts! Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

