GARDEN 60 – LYING DOWN ON THE LAWN

 

Lying down on the lawn
.
Near to ground level, on our back lawn; 15 July 2014.

At my (in truth, not vastly advanced) age, the problem with getting down there and enjoying things like this is, increasingly, getting back up again.

D800 with 105mm Nikkor; 400 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to GARDEN 60 – LYING DOWN ON THE LAWN

  1. LensScaper says:

    Oh yes – there ‘s a different world flat out on the lawn. I was doing just that the other day, shooting mushrooms.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      What, loaded for mushroom 🙂 ??? How silly can I get? Don’t answer that! And I bet that you’re fitter etc than I am, Andy, and that you’re better at getting down prone – but, as you say, once you get there, its another world. Thanks for your thoughts, my friend! Adrian

      Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Hmm..made me smile..not fond of lying on my stomach!!

    Like

  3. poppytump says:

    Hi Adrian .. lovely little flower … roll me in the clover comes to mind 😉
    I’m usually looking for something to grab on the way back up .. yes .. creaky back here too !

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Rolling you over in the clover, Poppy? Well you only have to blurt out the word. Trouble is, afterwards, I think that dinky little blooms like this one might feel a trifle, well, surprised … I mean, well, what’s Armageddon in Flowerspeak? …..

      But you’re right, having something to grab onto on the way up is the key – but do most gardens have them, do they hell!

      I hope you’re well and fine, Poppy. I’m very well into retirement now, and my wife retired two weeks back – relaxed is our watchword! Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely shot. My problem is that, (no exaggeration here) every single piece of everyday clothing I own has a permanent stain on the right knee from taking photos (red soil here) 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lisa, thank you! Red soil, yes, that reminds me of Tsavo, in Kenya. Red right knees, could be a song there …

      I suffer from exactly the same thing, except its Levels mud. One thing I have which is very useful, especially as kneeling down is not so easy for me as it used to be, is a kneeling down pad I bought at a garden centre – its about 15″x7″, made of foam, weighs nothing, and is really very handy and comfortable to kneel on – any use? A 🙂

      Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    Nice view to snooze too to. 🙂
    At least, that’s my excuse for staying down so long before getting up. 😀

    Like

  6. Carrie says:

    🙂 Sorry to hear that, you see things from this view that make,me at least, feel like a kid again. Great capture, so simple yet inviting.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nelson says:

    I second the getting up part

    Like

  8. bananabatman says:

    At least you are still accepting the challenge Adrian. It was well worth it. Dave.

    Like

  9. Leanne Cole says:

    I know what you mean, the older I get the harder it is to get back up, love the idea of this Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Leanne, thank you very much, glad you like it – and good to hear from you! And you’ve got aches too? Sorry to hear that. For both of us, jet packs on the elbows might be the way forward (and upward)! 🙂 A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

