SOMERSET LEVELS 181 – THE RISING SUN THROUGH TREES, DE-FOCUSED

 

 

The rising sin through trees, de-focused
.
The rising sun through trees, de-focused; seen from Hurn Drove, northeast of Godney; 28 Oct 2014.

Driving into the Levels early in the morning, when the sun started blasting over from the left.  So found a place to get the car off the single track road, and ran back up the road to catch our star shining through a small copse.  And so to spot metering for the sky next to the blazing disc (which is out of view, just left of this photo), focusing the lens on the ground at my feet, and taking this out of focus shot of the warm light streaming through the distant mesh of branches.

Fanciful maybe, but this reminds me of subdued detail in an Old Master painting and I like that effect.  And yet another foray into the debate about photos necessarily needing some sharp detail.

This image looks better on a black background but my blog is white – and so to a thickish black border.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 181 – THE RISING SUN THROUGH TREES, DE-FOCUSED

  1. Wonderful shot, I can feel the early morning warmth 🙂

    Like

  2. lovely amber glow!

    Like

  3. Looks like you captured a ghostly vision. The master strikes again. xxx

    Like

  4. bananabatman says:

    This is very effective Adrian. I like the balance of orange against the much darker shadows. Another moment of learning for me, since I would never of thought of taking the image. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Dave, my pleasure – thank you for your good words! I think the thing is always to remain receptive. As soon as I saw the rising sun – the all too quickly rising sun! – coming up behind that copse, I knew that it was something to photograph. I raised the camera to my eye but it was still focused for a closer subject, and I saw these out of focus highlights. I focused on the copse but the effect was certainly inferior, and so focusing on the ground near me and then taking the photo did the trick. This has happened to me before. Thank you again. Adrian

      Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    That’s lovely.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

