SOMERSET LEVELS 179 – THE REFLECTION OF A FENCE ON WATER

 

 

Reflection of a fence
.
The reflection of a fence on water; Tadham Moor, south of Wedmore; 31 Mar 2014.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 170mm; 3200 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 179 – THE REFLECTION OF A FENCE ON WATER

  1. Absolutely love this one!

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    I like the diagonal line to this – like a finger pointing onward and upward

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Very nice and moody. I’m not getting in the water to read the detail though πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No you’d better not take a dip because >> if I can rise into character for a moment … “There be ooze and eels in there, my lovely!”. Thanks for your appreciation, M – but if you think this moody, I’m about to post something ……. well if you don’t want to see the result … look away now ….

      Like

  4. If I didn’t have such a drowning phobia, this would be AWESOME!

    Like

  5. dave says:

    That’s really creative. Don’t think I would have seen the potential there. I love it!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Dave, thank you very much! I always think there’s potential everywhere, and one of the things that make exploiting it so much easier are single lens reflex cameras, which show us exactly what the camera is seeing. Before I could afford an SLR, it was so much more difficult framing shots of obscure and fleeting things. Adrian

      Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    Although the darkest portion of the reflection of the sky is at upper right, it still has a hopeful feel to it as the dark fingers of the fence reach up toward that corner. The wavelets give it an impressionist feeling too. What a nice way to start my morning–thanks yet again!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, I’m glad that you like it – and that Hope is not extinguished! But even if all had gone to rack and ruin, reversing the camera would have shown hot, sweet coffee along with thick wholemeal sandwiches filled with bitter, thick cut marmalade – and there was most certainly hope there! I never think of images in those terms – and I’m on the edge of posting one or two things where Hope may be even scarcer!

      Another way of looking at this of course is to see the brighter parts of the image consuming the black parts – great pointed and jagged fingers of light (and Hope!!!) pushing unstoppably into the blackness! Maybe the frame started entirely black (could that have been when I thought I’d forgotten to bring the victuals?!), only to succumb to Light??? A πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Sallyann says:

    My brain told me it was a telegraph pole in the rain. πŸ™‚

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

