SOMERSET LEVELS 178 – SWANS OVER TEALHAM (MONO)

 

 

Swans over Tealham Moor
.
Mute Swans on the wing over the northern edge of Tealham Moor, south of Wedmore; 31 Mar 2014.

These great birds are flying low over typically flat and rough Levels pasture, with the characteristic shapes of pollarded willows – like huge lollipops stuck stick first into the wet ground – immediately behind them.

But further back is a sharp and immediate change in the landscape – much older rocks are sticking up through the flatlands’ wet clays and peats, and there is at once a hillside with houses, tidy fields and sheep.  This is the southern edge of the high ground around Wedmore.

This high ground gives the impression of an island set amongst the Levels’ wetness and, only some hundreds of years ago, not very long ago at all really, this is exactly what these high lands were.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Yellowed 2 preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

21 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 178 – SWANS OVER TEALHAM (MONO)

  1. drawandshoot says:

    Sublime. You work a little magic with those landscapes you have.

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    I think there is vintage feel to this photo. love it.

    Like

  3. The wind beneath my wings. (Got a Bette theme going on here!) 😍
    Excellent. xxx

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    I see that I’ve been away for too long (again). Other commitments have been in the way, and this is a welcome mat back into the friendship fold. I’ve missed it, and you, and it’s good to be back. What a beautiful piece of work, Adrian!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, its good to hear from you, my friend, and as far as I’m concerned you certainly don’t need any welcome mat, the door is always open! I remember that you’ve been off in a remote cabin somewhere with the band you play in – I hope you all had a really good time! Get round to any malt whiskies??? And I also hope that your arm continues to recover well.

      And thank you for your good thoughts about this picture! Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • krikitarts says:

        Yup. Couldn’t find my favorite Lagavulin, so settled for Oban. It served very well indeed. And yes, the shoulder’s improving steadily–in fact, I can play not only my guitar but also billiards again, though I can’t get my chin close enough to the cue for precision aiming…

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Billiards, eh? I played a lot of snooker at university, but was never any good at it – I could never pot many balls, and I failed in the key thing that good players do – not only potting a ball, but also setting the next pot up at the same time. I’m very glad to hear your arm is so much better. A

          Like

  5. Absolutely superb! And so good in b/w too…

    Like

  6. karijeppesen says:

    …you did it again, Adrian – bring me back to my childhood, to a book that I love, “The wonderful journey of Nils Holgersson”, of Selma Lagerlof!!
    I am their with the birds… Thank you!

    And have a wonderful week-end!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. paula graham says:

    Oh Yes, I like it lots: the photo itself and your processing of it.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

