WALES 8 – ABERAERON 3 (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

Aberaeron 3
.
Along the backstreets; 24 Sept 2014.

Do I think this photo a success?  Not sure.  In its details its rather too cluttered, there are simply too many details, but I do like that great arc of textured green creeping across the top like some giant caterpillar,  and the blue door does so neatly occupy that corner. 

But I think there’s too much in here – having the large window totally filled by pale, featureless reflection would have helped, as might dulling all detail somewhat but retaining the colours by having Color Efex Pro 4 selectively introduce thin fog.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Dynamic Harsh preset and selectively re-introducing colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

23 Responses to WALES 8 – ABERAERON 3 (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    This one is pure success for me!

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Too cluttered? No. Order in chaos? Yes! I like this one, my friend.

    Like

  3. This image works for me! I like the circle from the plate, the part white disc in the left window and then the sunburst all framed by the ivy. I think the green and blue are just the right amount of colour – looks like a little hobbit house 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh a hobbit house I can identify with – good thinking, yes I can see that! And I really hadn’t got to grips with the circulars in the window, they’re worth hearing about too – of these I like the “sunburst” best and, in a wild moment of fancy, can see it in some shade of yellow! Thanks for those useful thoughts, Lisa! A 🙂

      Like

  4. Kind of busy, bud. Maybe just the door blue and no green or maybe not. What do I know?
    xxx
    ATP

    Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    I guess it would be interesting to see what you have imagined and then to compare each image side by side, but this image works for me. I like the realism regarding the details – the window works very well. The colours work well too – they complement each other without any jarring, and so the detail in the monochrome features works well. Like!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, M >>> well that’s a “like” then 🙂 ! I’m glad that you like it, but I’m not sure that I was imagining anything when I took it, unless it was the prospect of a good hot dinner! – a simple lad … I just thought that I liked it (the building, not the dinner), pointed the camera at it and took a picture. I hope you’re fine. Autumn weather coming in now, but I gather we’re in for a warmer weekend. A

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        When I said ‘imagined’, I meant what your alternative processing would have been, for example: filling in the window, and so on. I would like to see what that would look like so I could compare the two.

        Yes, it has felt very Autumnal recently, hasn’t it? The drop in temperature has been a bit of a shock to the system but, yes, it’s warming up! Watch out for the wind though 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Oh I see! Well, like I say, there’s just too much to look at here – and contrast this with the window shot I’ve posted this morning, which I’m much happier with. I’m not going to re-process this but, for example, if I did, I might greatly subdue the detail of the roof tiles at upper right, and also greatly subdue the details in the white wall that stretches across the frame left of the blue door. And although you like them, I might try and suppress much of the detail in the window. Post all this mayhem, the picture might come down to being more a collection of shapes and colours – I don’t know! Anyway, onwards and upwards – and I’m gearing up for more Levels trips in the not too distant future. A 🙂

          Like

  6. bmyshot says:

    Actually I think this is one of those rare cases in which mono+color works. The photo makes your eyes move around from side to side to undrestand what story it wants to tell. I’d say it is a success.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Bob, thanks for your thoughts – good to hear from you! I agree that mono+colour is a difficult medium; to me, many of the attempts are too crude, e.g. a pair of blue eyes or a blazing red car amongst otherwise mono subject matter. Thanks for the good things that you say about this image.

      But your mention of a “story” stops me in my tracks because, as I’ve just mentioned to Paula Graham below here, I almost never think in terms of stories or “messages”, I just look at images and think whether I like them or not – and for what reasons. Maybe I am thinking about stories, maybe I know them by other names, I don’t know.

      But I do know what you mean about compositions that make our eyes move around an image – they’re good – as long as they don’t make our eyes shoot off out of the image! Thanks again. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

      • bmyshot says:

        Oh yeah I totally agree with you on not trying to “send a message” with a photo. I take photos that way too without thinking about what they could mean. With that being said, I believe that a good photo makes you wonder for a couple of seconds even if the photographer wasn’t thinking about a specific story when he/she pressed the shutter button.

        Like

  7. paula graham says:

    Adrian, I had a good look at this photo and I am inclined to agree with you that it appears a bit cluttered and I wonder what your ‘message’ is..but still did a like as it makes for an interesting post. Of course, if this is what you wanted to achieve..you have!! Not sure how to do a positive comment…on on to the next one, I presume and not agonise about it too much, they can’t all be ‘winners!’

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, thank you for your considered thoughts. Oh dear, I’m not too good on “messages”, I rarely think in those terms, I’m more just simply whether an image “looks good” or not. I usually feel good about the images I post, but on this occasion I did have second thoughts, and I voiced them because I think it useful and healthy to chew the fat about images, as a means of sharpening and broadening our visual skills – and my words have sparked some debate – which I guess makes the post useful. If I have any negative feelings about future posts, I’m going to air them.

      Way back at the start of my blogging I read that not only “best” photos should be posted and I’m sure this is correct – lower standard ones have a place on show too – though as I’ve just said to Andy Beel, in comments elsewhere, knowing which photos to show and which not to is one of the signs of a good photographer.

      And yes, certainly, on to the next one, certainly no point in agonising. I did try beating my breast physically and beating myself up verbally – “through my own fault, my own fault!”, that sort of thing – but it didn’t seem to improve the images so I eased off.

      I enjoy our discussions, Paula. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Nelson says:

    Personally I would have shot it that a little larger to include the right side of the door frame and the left side of the window frame. Sometime the essence of the photo can be more is better and you can have a lot of objects in one photo. . I do not find this photo too cluttered

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks for your views, Nelson, I understand exactly what you’re saying. But I think our visual tastes are different. I’m usually trying to pare things down, often to near Minimal levels – and I acknowledge that I can go to far with this approach – I don’t give the compositions “room to breathe”. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  9. lumar1298 says:

    I like it especially the blue door… It automatically drew my attention to it…

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

