MENDIP HILLS 34 – TWO COWS AND A WALL (MONO)

 

 

Two cows and a wall
.
Two cows and a wall beside East Water Lane, near Priddy; 7 Aug 2014.

OK, OK, I realise that the front one at least isn’t a cow, but I prefer this title!  Titles matter … as do good beers and ciders …

So, two cattle on snow or white grass, with the dirty smudges of a wall in the background.  I’ve nearly managed to get the whites on the front animal to coalesce with those of the grass, which causes this Friesian to melt somewhat into its background – its on the way to becoming an abstract mass of irregular black shapes, an unsolvable jigsaw.

I get the sense of a unintentional geometrical composition here, with the front animal at the apex and the wall as the baseline.  And if this is the case, the rear animal sits just within the left hand border.

And for some reason I can’t put my finger on – and while not in the slightest laying any claim to his genius – this reminds me somehow of a Banksy mural; not of any specific one, but of his general style.

Is this bullock happy in the knowledge that this whiter than white and certainly aseptic GM grass will make purer milk; or then again irate because although scientists may think that cows prefer their GM pastures vanilla flavoured, he damn well doesn’t!?

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Infrared Film Soft preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to MENDIP HILLS 34 – TWO COWS AND A WALL (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Beautifully composed and lovely processing.

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Genetically modified vanilla flavour grass… now there’s a weird thought. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. andybeel says:

    Hi Adrian interesting picture. It reminded me that I have for a long time wanted to do Frisian? cows in Infra-red and play around with the highlights. Right off I go to find a field. Thanks. Andy

    Like

  4. I like this, A. I think the slightly whiter white on the animal in the front makes it look 3D. Stare at it a while. ( or is it the vino?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I do see what you mean, Gem – the animal almost seems to be floating out in front of the photo – haha! >>> the camera never lies!!! >>> I don’t think so – or maybe I just have a camera that was badly brought up!

      Glad you like it, thank you! Well the weekend’s on us again – I hope you two have a good one! A xxx

      Like

  5. Malin H says:

    Lovely post, my friend. Title matters – haha… I agree about that.
    Have a wonderful evening.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. paula graham says:

    I like it, makes me look and think. Well thought out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, thank you. I’ve been looking at it too, and have realised that, because they are smaller, and also because I know it to be true, I have been automatically assuming that the smaller cow and the wall are further away than the larger cow. The image has of course brought all three things into the same plane in reality. And it takes an effort of will to convince myself that the smaller cow and the wall are in fact the objects nearer to me. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

