PEOPLE 186 – MAN IN A BASEBALL CAP (MONO)

 

 

Man in a baseball cap
.
Man in a baseball cap, at New Quay, west Wales; 23 Sept 2014.

He was standing on the harbour wall, lost in thought as he intently scanned the sea for dolphins.  I was doing the same.

I’ve processed this as low key, quite far from reality.  What emotions, if any, does it provoke?

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Low Key 2 preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to PEOPLE 186 – MAN IN A BASEBALL CAP (MONO)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Sorry, still got thoughts from the last post in my head, and …
    You weren’t watching the dolphins at that moment and he caught a glimpse of the camera lens as it turned in his direction, he quickly put his hand up to prevent a spot on his chin from being caught on film. 😀
    Do you suppose he secretly is a dolphin in disguise.? Look how long that baseball cap is.?
    Sorry, it’s Friday. I’m always tired on a Friday. Changing my sleep pattern from nights to days for the weekend leaves my mind wandering around in the twilight zone. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’d forgotten that you work nights; that must really be a hard grind and, as you say, especially so when trying to be awake on Sat and Sunday. I really feel for you, such a routine would finish me. 😦

      Spot on his chin??? Do your cakes contain any dubious substances .?.. But I get you re the dolphin / hat brim thing. Thanks for your twilight thoughts, my friend. I hope you’re wakeful enough to enjoy today’s sunshine. As an oldie. I’m off to the doctor’s soon – special Sat opening!!! – for a flu jab. A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Without your words, I pictured a farmer, contemplating the loss of his crops. Wondering. Turning it around in his head. “I should have listened to mom. I should have been a cattle rancher. ”
    😉
    Great photo, bud.
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    Yea…I like the photo and the processing……emotions..difficult as you have already told me what he is doing.

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    What a wonderful portrait! I love this. I like the way you have captured him in a seemingly pensive mood as his fingers rest on his chin – mouth open in anticipation – as if he is weighing something up.

    It reminds me of a scene in the movie ‘Jaws’ – a b&w still from the film, perhaps; an amalgam of a couple of the main characters as they stand on the boat having seen a glimpse of the shark, and wondering how they are going to deal with him. This guy looks American to me with his peak cap, sideburns, and strong jawline.

    Great stuff, Adrian!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      M, thank you, I’m very glad you like this – because I did wonder if the low key treatment would go down well – which is why I asked for any emotions that it provokes. And with you, for example, I’d have thought you’d prefer something lighter in tone.

      And yes, he’s weighing something up, i.e. whether the dolphins are going to appear. But he’s not American.

      And I’ve won a “Great stuff!” award … you get more like me every day … which might not be a plus … 🙂 …

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

