ARCHIVE 100 – SUNLIGHT ON GRASS AND DANDILIONS, AND A QUOTE FROM TURNER

 

 

Sunlight on lawns and flowers
.
Sunlight on grass and Dandilions in the churchyard at Stanton Drew, a village in the Chew Valley, south of Bristol; 7 May 2013.

I went for a long and wonderfully peaceful stroll around Stanton Drew this morning, in blazing sunshine.  Its a small village not far south of Bristol and not on any great routes to anywhere, and so its always a very relaxing place.  There’s a pub, the Druids’ Arms, which I think is open again now.  Its name refers to the nearby stone circles, which were once part of a vast prehistoric monument – larger than both Stonehenge and Avebury – but which, being made mostly of wood, is no longer visible above ground.

The Stanton Drew circles have nothing of the hustle, bustle and tourism of Stonehenge and Avebury – car  parking is free, admission costs £1 in an Honesty Box and that’s it! – if you like your prehistory or your paganisn untainted by the masses, this is the place for you – you may well be the only person there.

The churchyard is even more peaceful than the rest of the village, and just wonderful for a slow, contemplative stroll.  I saw the light hitting the grass and flowers, and producing dappled shade under the trees – I raised the camera to my eye, saw this, and kept my fingers and thumbs well away from the autofocus!

Impressionist?  Yes, I think so – and that brings to mind a quote from JMW Turner, most certainly a hero of mine, that I mentioned sometime back – “I did not paint it to be understood, but I wished to show what such a scene was like” ->>> absolutely, JMW, way to go, man, way to go!!!

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to ARCHIVE 100 – SUNLIGHT ON GRASS AND DANDILIONS, AND A QUOTE FROM TURNER

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Turner, favourite painter of mine! And i can completely identify with his words!! Beautiful creative work by you too 🙂

    Like

  2. lovely shot (as always!) – no need for explanations! If I was going to say anything, it’d be that it takes me to the space between awake and sleep…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Malin H says:

    Wonderful image… It’s an image that one can see different “stories” in.
    A story about life… Out of focus or in some kind of a dream… or maybe this is the story about the moment when we leave this life for something better?

    I like this image, my friend. And the quote too!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Leaving this life for something better, that’s an agreeable thought, my friend, I’d like to think that’s true! Thank you for your ideas. And as for Turner, wow, what an artist! And there’s a film (movie) about him out soon, which I’m looking forward to very much. I hope your Saturday is going well, Malin – we started with heavy rain, but now sunshine is all around, warming all. Adrian 🙂

      Like

  4. I remember you mentioning Stanton Drew before. I don’t know how I feel about this picture. But it did make me Google Stanton Drew again and it looks like a very cool place to visit. Hugs from ATP

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I can understand your feelings about this picture. Its an acquired taste, and it wasn’t too popular when I first posted it sometime back. Too abstract for you maybe, but for me, the diffuse areas of bright colour, contained by darker tones at the bottom and upper left do it – oh and the merest hints of the Dandilion heads too. But we are all different, that’s the thing – the important and most vital thing.

      Oh Stanton Drew is lovely, and its right on our doorstep – I should go there more; and there’s a pub that at least used to do good food – tho it gave me food poisoning once but you can’t have everything….

      ST’s charm lies in two things. First, obviously, there are the prehistoric remains, in the very simplest and most rural of settings – including the pub’s back garden. No crowds or tourism like Stonehenge and Avebury. But also the village is small and up rather a dead end roadwise, so that it lovely and peaceful to stroll round; the church in particular is up a dead end lane, and the churchyard is wonderfully secluded and peaceful. A 🙂

      Like

      • I like the idea of peaceful. Some day when you go back if you remember a pic if the church would be nice. 🙂
        I will revisit this photo on a bigger screen and see if that does something for me but yes. To each his own makes the 🌍 go round. 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Werle now, missus, werle now, re this transpond request for church pics, I’ve only gone and noted it in my diary, haven’t I? OK, its on the page for 24 February but its still in there, which is a lot better than being out there, and you never know …

          And don’t agonise over this image, feel free to delete and excrete … no, the picture … the picture … 🙂 …

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

