PEOPLE 185 – REFLECTION OF A SHOPPER (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

Reflection of a shopper
.
Reflection of a shopper in a shop window on Burnham-On-Sea’s High Street;  11 Sept 2014.

Walking back up Burnham’s High Street to lunch in the excellent Somerset & Dorset pub, this sale sign and mannequin on the opposite side of the road caught my eye – and so to autofocus and three quick exposures.  I was looking back at the window and, by sheer luck, the last if these shots caught the reflection of a man off to the left who was looking at the window display.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Film Noir 1 preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to PEOPLE 185 – REFLECTION OF A SHOPPER (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Very very interesting processing!!! love this image!

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    This is a good one!!

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    Cleverly caught, Adrian

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    That’s even more unusual than what I’ve come to expect of your unexpected surprises. The mannequin looks taken aback at his intrusion into her otherwise quiet space.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, she does – absolutely! Well, the unusual is certainly amongst my aims – I have a couple of quotes from Nature photographer Art Wolfe that I may post, and they include always pushing things further, and that’s me I think. A

      Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    I often wonder about the mannequins, their expressionless faces look so bored with our comings and goings.
    Surely a less fed up expression would do more to enhance the sales?
    Maybe one day… When I no longer need to hold onto my supermarket employment as a mode of transporting my existence to where I want to be, I could find employment dressing windows and painting happy houses for the mannequins to live in.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good point – they’re always deadpan – so as not to take our attentions away from their gladrags???

      Knowing you as I do, I can quite imagine you as a window dresser, I bet you’d do it with flare and aplomb! I’m just back from looking at dolphins off west Wales. 🙂

      Like

  6. I thought he was part of the display. Freaky! 🙂
    xxx
    Hope the dolphins are running 😉

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

