STILL LIFE 21 – WEDDING DRESS

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

Wedding dress
.
Wedding dress, on display along Queens Road, Bristol; 17 July 2014.

This image provokes two questions.  First, was I trying, desperately perhaps, to get in touch with my soft, sensitive – mushy, even – Inner Self???  

Or then again, second, as I read in the  eyes of those passing by: “‘Ere, who’s the fat geezer taking pictures of the dress then?”.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (equivalent); 400 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to STILL LIFE 21 – WEDDING DRESS

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Beautiful dress!!

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Lol…
    And a lovely image of course!

    Like

  3. Geoff says:

    Definitely reminiscent of foamy sea, shells and sand … nicely seen Adrian 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Geoff, thank you very much – but in all honesty I didn’t see the seashore effect until a Commenter here pointed it out – when it became instantly vivid! I just liked the great descending tumble of wonderfully coloured and textured flowers. Adrian

      Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Washing across from the left on the tide… yes? 🙂

    Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    Pretty. Unusual colour? 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, but let’s go for the unusual, let’s not do what has always been done before simply because its always been done before. Let’s not follow meekly like sheep, let’s think for ourselves – and let’s imagine! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. krikitarts says:

    I, too, could see the sea foam right at the start, and I loved your impression of the expressions of the passers-by. It sounds like they could well benefit from a little exploration of their own inner selves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, I’m glad you like it – thank you! The sea foam thing hits me more every time I look at this. Is your arm still recovering well – I hope so. I’m about to go off to west Wales, to (hopefully!) show my wife her first wild dolphins. Adrian

      Like

      • krikitarts says:

        Yup, the arm’s better, looser, and stronger by the day, thanks so much, but it will be many months before I can throw a believable sucker punch. Best of luck with the dolphins!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Excellent news, good to hear it! We saw many dolphins, which was wonderful, but not up close – I’ve yet to see how my pictures are; also very good to hear many of the inhabitants speaking Welsh. A

          Like

  7. Haha! I love it! “The fat geezer taking pictures of the dress”… Only you would have thought of that response from onlookers. It’s a gorgeous image and I love the (dammit, the cognitive dysfunction, again) “long” photo. I also love the shadows and highlights and tones. A keeper, Adrian. Even if a fat geezer shot it… Chuckle…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha, if I’ve made you chuckle on this Saturday morning, George, my dear, then this Saturday morning is going well!!! The “fat geezer” thing was probably accompanied by “Oh, there’s that awful man again!” – in a high and appalled, lady’s voice … of course … 🙂 …

      Its good to hear the good things you say about the image, my friend – thank you! “Vertical letterbox” is the format you’re trying to think of >>> I get the cog dysfunction thing too and, like you, I can’t be bothered disguising it – like you, I just throw in words that may help people get an idea of what I’m on about!!!

      Dreams & Zeros (the Comment below here), is interesting – he sees the dress as a wave breaking over a seashore – have a look at our speaks, its a very interesting interpretation.

      What got to me about the dress was that great and slightly sinuous tumble or cascade of huge flowers – as you say, the soft colours and tones – wow! >>> and I hate to think what the dress might cost!!!

      George, I hope you’re happy and content. Keep in touch, if you can.

      With all good wishes from me,

      Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the colours and tones in this – it took me a while to “work it out” – I saw it as being “washed up on the shore” for a few seconds…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      D&Z, you’re right, it could well be a sea wave, travelling across the beach from left to right, with lots of foam and/or detritus on its crest, and with the little patch of grey near upper right as the sand the wave is about to flow onto – well seen! Thanks for your good, sharp thoughts! Adrian 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

