ARCHIVE 95 – GULLS OVER OUR GARDEN (MONO)

Gulls over our garden
.

Gulls (‘seagulls’!) flying over our garden; 7 Jan 2010.

Human eyes in Western societies scan images from left to right.  Here, my eye is taken up the line of the three similar silhouettes on the left, only to “topple right” to the more steeply banking (or flapping? exploding?) bird fourth in line; after which my eye drops to the fifth silhouette, low in the right of the frame – and then, in the absence of anything else to fasten onto in the frame, my attention is drawn back to the left hand bird again.

I like the Minimalist simplification to silhouette.  The heavy, deep breasted shapes show these to be the larger gull species, either Herring Gulls or Lesser Black-backed Gulls, rather than the smaller, less bulky Black-headed Gulls which are also commonly seen over Bristol.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1600 ISO; converted to mono with Alien Skin’s Exposure 2.

.

.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

13 Responses to ARCHIVE 95 – GULLS OVER OUR GARDEN (MONO)

  1. krikitarts says:

    I like this flight of shadow fancy very much, Adrian!

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Briliant!
    And I really like the high key-effect!

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    You’ve described this image perfectly, Adrian. Is Alien Skin a preset in a plugin? I’m assuming it is. Beats fiddling with lith inter-negatives!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, thank you very much! Alien Skin is a plugin that I used before I got into Silver Efex – both work with Photoshop Elements. Its still going, I think Alien Skin 6 was released recently, and basically it provides large numbers of film presets, with control over tones, grain, etc, but I’ve come to see SEP as a sheer delight and, although AS is on my computer now, I’ve not used it for a long time. Adrian

      Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Surprisingly I like this one too, no colour, but my eyes are drawn around the picture as you said… and my mouth curves upwards at the ends. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Excellent, great >>> way to go, sister, glad you like its colourfullessness!!! And nice to be sure exactly what your eyes and mouth are doing … I mean … the world’s a safer place … that sort of thing … 🙂 ….

      Like

  5. Nelson says:

    I like the minimalistic effect

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

