MENDIP HILLS 33 – BRAMBLE AND HAWTHORN (MONO)

 

 

Bramble and hawthorn
.
Bramble and Hawthorn along the side of East Water Lane; 7 Aug 2014.

The sharp thorns and rounded, serrated leaves of Bramble, the plant that rends clothes and skin and swamps your garden if you give it half a chance – but which is redeemed by being the source at this time of the year of gorgeous blackberries. 

And below, the smaller, notched leaves of Hawthorn, also known as May because it blossoms – and gorgeously too – during that month.  My mother was born in May, and was given that as her middle name.   And there are many red berries on these trees now, but whether that indicates a mild or a hard winter – who knows?

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Negative preset; further processing in Capture NX2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to MENDIP HILLS 33 – BRAMBLE AND HAWTHORN (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    lovely tones here!! somehow mysterious!

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    I tell myself each year that I will go blackberrying again, I haven’t made bramble jelly in ages.
    I also remind myself that I want to take a picture of big round juicy blackberries with a dappled blue sky for a background, maybe this year.
    The photo opportunity has been there once or twice, but I’ve promised myself I won’t do one without the other. 😀

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    Through a keyhole–darkly. Your sepia treatment works especially well here, and the idea for your framing is great for a natural vignette (though I’d rather see it applied a bit more subtly–but that’s just me). The brambles on the branch at lower left stand out beautifully.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      You frequently prefer more subtle vignettes, Gary, and sometimes I agree; I can be heavy handed – but, for me at least, I think that the strength of the vignette here is needed to hold it all together, to hold it all in. Thanks for your good thoughts, my friend. Adrian

      Like

  4. I LOVE blackberries, but yup they’ll take over. I like the pic, A.
    xxx
    ATP

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good stuff, Gem, good stuff – thanks! Its a nice day, and we’re off down to Burnham-On-Sea for a stroll followed by sticking our snouts in the trough. ATP xx

      Like

      • I’m all for sticking my face in a trough (anything that is a horse reference is fine with me!)
        😉
        Hope if was YUM!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I must take some more horse pics for you, have to go cold turkey on these throat lozenges.

          Yes, it was most definitely YUM! The Somerset & Dorset pub in Burnham-On-Sea, named after the old Somerset & Dorset railway, affectionately known as the S&D, the Slow & Dirty. We’ve eaten here 3 times now and its been great every time. Today? My wife had a great plate of ham, fried eggs and chips, while I knocked back a 12oz steak, with chips, onion rings, pepper sauce, mushrooms and peas.

          Then we lurched into Winny’s Bakery for goodies to take home – bread and butter pudding, rock cakes, Dorset apple cake – and a loaf of marmite bread (if you don’t know about Marmite, best keep well away). And I bought 4 pints of Bateman’s Victory Ale, which I’ve just knocked back – or has it just knocked me back, heck! (another hopeful stab at Yankee) that’s hard to say! ATP xxx

          Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Interesting and well processed.

    Like

  6. iosatel says:

    Excellent work!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

