MENDIP HILLS 32 – REACHING UP FOR THE SKY (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

Reaching up for the sky
.
Walking along East Water Lane, and looking up to my left; 7 Aug 2014.

Another infrared-style image, this time given a bluish, cyanotype tone.  There are other IR-type images from this session, here and here.

D800 with 12-24 Sigma at 14mm; 100 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Strong Infrared High Contrast preset, and adding a strong cyanotype tone; rotated and flipped.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

28 Responses to MENDIP HILLS 32 – REACHING UP FOR THE SKY (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    What a wonderful POV!! and love this Blue tones too.

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Reaching for the sky… perfect title, I see two arms upstretched with the head tilted backwards. 😀

    Like

  3. Very nice Adrian – love the angle and of course the processing! 🙂

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful and very feminine-looking.

    Like

  5. bananabatman says:

    Just passing for long enough to spot this rather good image Adrian. It is the type of image that I so often try to resist shooting, wondering whether it would be worth it, but when I see this I can see that I am making a mistake. Infrared- style certainly suits it. Expect to see more trees when I get back to posting! Dave.

    Like

  6. Sue Vincent says:

    I can see the face, and it reminded me instantly of “Trees” by Joyce Kilmer.

    Like

  7. Carrie says:

    I really love the color tones in this. Especially the sky in between the branches. What a beautiful image, like arms holding up the world!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello, Carrie! I’m glad you like this, thank you – and the reasons you give are very much in line with my feelings – we think the same!

      And looking at it again now, maybe the small mass of ?fern in the trunk’s fork is a beard, below a face mostly lost in the darkness immediately above it? I can see the illuminated tip of its nose and to the left a suggestion of an eye socket – its looking down at us as it holds up the world. Good to hear from you! Adrian 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

