ARCHIVE 92 – THE THREE KINGS ARRIVE IN THE WRAITHS’ CITY (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

The three kings arrive in the wraiths' city
.
FANTASY: three tall kings, resplendent in richly coloured robes, enter the spectral city of the Wraiths.  I’m influenced by Tolkien perhaps – no, not perhaps >>>most certainly!!!  These three are in Tolkien’s Minas Morgul, the city of his Ringwraiths, walking into its deathly glow.

REALITY: three furled sun umbrellas and an old streetlight outside a pub in Perranporth, Cornwall; 25 Oct 2012.  The impression of robed beings was immediate.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; conversion to mono and re-colouring in Silver Efex Pro 2; further processing in Capture NX2.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

31 Responses to ARCHIVE 92 – THE THREE KINGS ARRIVE IN THE WRAITHS’ CITY (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    What an eye you have got!!! And imagination too! And creativity too!

    What is capture NX-2?

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Wonderful fantasy! And wonderful image. 🙂

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    I remember this one well. A fantastic image the first time round which hasn’t lost its impact on the second viewing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sallyann says:

    Three kings from the Orient maybe? bearing gifts? 🙂
    Unfortunately working in retail has already turned my mind to later in the year. 😦

    Like

    • Sallyann says:

      On the brighter side however, you have sent me off with a cheery song in my head. 🙂

      Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh no, oh I really feel for you – here comes the Great Annual Buying Orgy! My Christmas profile is very low key, I opt out of most of it – I’ve spent some Christmases alone (tho that won’t be the case this year), which I suppose might be an appalling thing for many to contemplate, but its fine and quiet. One of the two times in our frantic society when everything grinds to a halt, albeit for only a day – the other time being when someone close dies – how’s that for sadness on a Friday morning?! Don’t be down >>> I’ll come to your shop and buy something – promise!!! 🙂

      Like

  5. WOW, what gorgeous light and composition! I Love it.

    Like

  6. Gorgeous shot! Such rich colours – and a misty, foggy feel in the background! Majestic!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, D&Z! The colours of the kings’ robes have all been restored within a mono image and, as often happens, they are somewhat unreal – which is no bad thing. And I think, although I can’t certainly remember, that the fogginess of the backdrop was produced by manipulation of contrast. Thanks again! Adrian

      Like

  7. krikitarts says:

    Be very careful, my friend, lest you attract the attention of someone whose fiery eye you do not want to be peering in your direction…

    Like

  8. athyfoto says:

    That’s a very imaginative shot, well seen and executed.

    Like

  9. andybeel says:

    Hi Adrian nice picture. Not sure how the processing was done but it works really well. Thanks

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi Andy – thanks very much! As I said to Shane Francescut below here, I’m a bit agog at this now – and I can’t certainly recall how I did it. But I think I read it into mono in Silver Efex Pro 2, and then restored the umbrellas’ colours, and added a dark vignette. And then took it into Capture NX2, where I gave the mono background, the only remaining mono there, the pale blue tint. Adrian

      Like

  10. I’ve always thought of Ringwraiths as being black they’re so evil. As soon as I saw this image I thoought of Venice.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh Ringwraiths are in black, Henrietta, except when they’re at Ladies Day at Ascot of course, but these are not the wraiths but rather, in my imagination, kings entering the wraiths’ city. But I can see Venice too – are they all wearing those wonderful masks??? A 🙂

      Like

      • Definately no masks. I went to the carnaval once, when I was a student, but I prefer Venice in the winter as it’s comparitively quiet.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I’ve never been to Venice, but I’m with you re quieter times of the year, anywhere. Bath, for example, gets pretty manic with tourists in the summer, and really its just exhausting – the only good thing being that, since everyone’s got a camera, I’m less conspicuous.

          Like

  11. Wow, I love the processing you did on this image. It took me a couple minutes to realize that they we’re umbrellas before I read your text, but I love the imagination that went with it. Fantastic post!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

