MENDIP HILLS 27 – DANCING ALONG EASTWATER LANE (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

Dancing along East Water Lane
,
Selfie, dancing along East Water Lane, east of Priddy; 7 Aug 2014.

Walking along this lane on a beautiful August morning, and with the prospect of a Full English Breakfast at Priddy Good Farm Shop certainly looming, I balance my camera on my capacious paunch, set Delayed Action, and start singing and dancing:  “And I get my kicks … on East Water Lane …”.

And meeting a herd of bullocks and glorying in the memory of Brad Majors: “Say, do any of you guys know how to Madison?”.

Of course, acting sensibly is the thing, of course I know that.  After all, if we don’t act sensibly, we don’t get any respect, do we?  

“And I get my kicks ………”

D800 with Sigma 12-24 at 12mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Smooth preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

30 Responses to MENDIP HILLS 27 – DANCING ALONG EASTWATER LANE (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. karijeppesen says:

    Dancing and shadows… you can´t miss it!! hahaha… (…smiling and smiling…)

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Got carried away with thoughts of night clubbing, forgot to say I like the picture… and you look so… tall. 🙂

    Like

  3. Fun! Love it!!
    xxx

    Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    You nailed that one Adrian. Was that lucky first time? When I’ve tried something like this I usually find the camera has found something far more interesting to capture than me! Like the processing, by the way.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No it wasn’t a lucky first time, haha!!! As is normal with FATman Photography it was after quite a few failures – with some much needed exercise thrown in!

      Glad you like it, Andy! The processing is a technique I use quite often – take the image into mono, and then selectively restore colour – in this case to the grass verges of the lane. And then the creamish colour of the lane itself is an added tone – all of this done in SEP2 – I like this process for the slightly unreal look it often gives.

      Thanks for your thoughts, my friend – hope you’re fine! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    Reminds me of Peter Pan trying to find his shadow and sewing its feet back to his own. May we never lose the urge to dance when we feel really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha! >>> absolutely >>>may we never lose that urge!!! Bolstad, I prescribe for you one super large tot of single malt, followed by strapping your bad arm to your side, and spending the rest of the day bopping and madisoning the hours away! Trust me, I’m a … 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      • krikitarts says:

        Bopping and madisoning are not really options at this stage, but I will most seriously consider the first part of your prescription! Then…who knows? (Well, OK, most likely a good snooze in a comfy lounge chair.)

        Like

  6. Meanderer says:

    Oh what fun! Made me smile on this slightly chill but bright Tuesday morning. There’s more than a touch of the Travoltas here, I have to say 🙂 Wonderful!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good stuff, glad it made you smile! Travolta? Well, yes, he got it from me, but the ointment proved efficacious…… And, long, long ago, my “dancing” brought an African night club to a standstill – even one of those moves now would probably cripple me for life – as mowing and hacking back the front garden has just nearly done …. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meanderer says:

        Ah – that explains it: I remember an interview he gave to a magazine where he related a story of a guy called ‘AL’ to whom he owed his moves. Makes sense now.

        You really have to elaborate on the dancing in an African night club story; sounds intriguing!

        The only time I remember being brought to a standstill over dance moves was my queuing (that word looks wyrd) up to see Saturday Night Fever around the building of the Granada cinema in Slough when I were a lass. It contained 3 screens: the first for the top billing; the second for the B movie; the third for the pervy showing. Ah: happy days before multi-screen ………….

        No: I never went near screen 3 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          No, elaboration might not be wise, might lead to an even greater erosion of respect than dancing down Mendip lanes – let’s just say that I was young and uninhibited, and certainly all the better for lots of Tusker lager too.

          “wyrd” is good – getting into Anglo-Saxon fate and destiny there, my friend. And that wonderful line from Back To The Future – “You are my density!”.

          Love the thought of the pervy showings – and then there’s that great group Two Door Cinema Club, that might be a derivation thereof. Our speaks cause us to range widely, don’t they? 🙂

          Like

          • Meanderer says:

            Indeed. I’ve just had someone follow me and reblog my latest post whose own website extols the virtues of ‘smoking weed’. Do you think they mean dandelion? No, neither do I. The nearest i’ve got to what they are talking about is a handbag I own made of hemp. Honestly; what’s happening to WP these days 🙂

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              WP? – there’s people like you and me on it, that’s what’s happening. The weed is a lifestyle choice … good for them … but …you own a handbag? … good lord …. well, I think its brave of you to … talk openly about it … I remember getting clobbered by handbags, the backhand across the face was especially enervating …

              Like

              • Meanderer says:

                I’m an owner, not a user (honest your honour). I’ve used the appendages on rare occasions – to fit in with the feminine crowd – but I don’t like ’em. I prefer a backpack or pockets; plenty of pockets. I’m scarred from the time I had a purse stolen from a handbag whilst at the Cat Balou Club in Slough when I was underage. It had my football tickets from the Liverpool v Chelsea game that my friend had paid for. It also had various lucky charms in it: so much for that. Always been dubious of handbags and purses since then. I probably stand out because I don’t carry a handbag. Square peg syndrome. It’s a long time since I was 17.

                Liked by 1 person

                • Adrian Lewis says:

                  I like it when you call me “Your honour”, there’s certainly a twist of realism there, and for that I shall loosen up a little re the nightclub – it was called Hallians, and it would have been 1978 or 79, when I was a mere, pudgy lad of 28 or 29.

                  And I keep getting these blazing illuminations re Your Goodself, like underage in the the Cat Balou Club … with a handbag and football tickets … great stuff!!! 🙂

                  Glad to hear you eschew (what a great word, right up there with the likes of expunge!)handbags, somehow reassuring. And square pegs, aren’t we? And its a long time since I was 29! 🙂

                  Like

                  • Meanderer says:

                    I thought you’d called the nightclub ‘ Hallysans’ for a moment – which would have been mindbending!

                    Yes – the buggers on the door of the Cat Balou used to excuse their frisking of us girls as essential – were we trying to smuggle something in. They simply wanted to see if we were wearing suspenders.

                    I’d been a fan and supporter of Chelsea FC for a long time – following in father’s footsteps. My mother was away in Oz at the time and came back home thinking my father was allowing such deviant and unsavoury behaviour (the Cat Balou and CFC!).. Seems an age since I was 17, 29 or indeed 42 when the answer to so much was said to be revealed. I just feel tired these days – with a glimpse of energetic youth!

                    Square pegs forever!

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • Adrian Lewis says:

                      Yes, mindbending – would that have made her my density??? 🙂 But suspenders? Please this is a wholemeal blog ….

                      Yes, I feel tired too – not sure I’d want to go through youth again. And table tennis next week might be an all too true revelation of my true physical decrepitude …

                      Yes (I seem to be agreeing with you a lot!), square pegs forever – they have after all got character, and the courage to show it and not merely meekly conform to drab conformityism!!! 🙂

                      Like

                    • Sallyann says:

                      Hallysann’s night club… large comfy chairs, round and square to fit all peg shapes, foot stools, gentle lighting, and background music, a little jazz maybe?

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Adrian Lewis says:

                      And my blog has run out of comment boxes but I just want to say that, once more, I like the way you think, Hallysann! 🙂 🙂 🙂

                      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

