BIRDS 62 – SAKER

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

Saker Falcon
.
Saker, a falcon at the International Centre for Birds of Prey, Newent, Gloucestershire; 2 July 2014.

There is a photo of the similar Lanner here.  Both of these are quite large falcons, similar in size to the Peregrine that we know in the UK, but distinctly larger than our Kestrel.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to BIRDS 62 – SAKER

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    one more close-up and more sigh of jealousy from me 🙂

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    My, what sharp little eyes…makes me glad I’m not a mouse in the underbrush! And table tennis– yes, count me in, too. Used to be pretty good, then many years of no practice, then both of my sons-in-law are really into it and have been helping to whip me back into shape, though only for a few weeks out of the year so far. But that may improve relatively soon. We’ll see.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      That’s the thing, isn’t it – we were table tennis aces years ago, but now?????? Even in 1990 I was appalled at my lack of skill, but I’m going to give this a go and see what happens – starting in a week or two I think. Hope you’re fine, Gary – thanks for your thoughts! Adrian

      Like

  3. Fabulous birds 🙂 This is a lovely portrait against the black background! Did you see them flying? Sooooooo fast!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi Sarah, how are you doing? – glad you like it – thank you! No, there was a flying display but I was looking for portraits – but I read that the closely related Peregrine reaches 200mph as it stoops on victims – Nature, eh? Wow, it never ceases to vastly impress and visually intrigue me! I hope you’re fine. Adrian

      Like

      • I’m ok apart from being tired! Yes, the peregrine is the fastest and just extraordinary to watch in flight! The saker is often cross bred with the gyr falcon and the gyr-sakers reach a similar speed. I have a real passion for birds of prey 🙂 Photographing them in flight is hard!!

        Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    A bird I hadn’t heard of, and a wonderful portrait, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      M, thank you very much! Not surprised you don’t know it, its a species from far east of us – not even sure its on the British List. I’ve had a very few possible sightings long ago, in Kenya and the Middle East I think they were, but I can’t be sure now – and especially so as it can be confused with the more westerly Lanner – good job I’m no longer an ardent ticker then!!!

      Oh and the prospect of my leading a U3A group looking at images has fallen flat – U3A and I don’t see eye to eye (no pun intended!!!), and I’m too fond of my freedom and my free time >>> but I am going to have a go at table tennis again >>> first test is to see if I’m physically up to it >>> send first aid kit fastest! A 🙂

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        Oh, that’s a shame about U3A. Are they a bit stuck in their ways? Newcomers are always trouble 🙂

        Alll the best with the table tennis! I haven’t played since I were a youngster (yes, that long!). I used to like playing tennis – my serve was the best part of my game – but I haven’t done that for a long time, either. Walking and gardening are my (more sedate) choices for exercise these days.

        Like

  5. lumar1298 says:

    What a beauty!

    Like

  6. roblowephoto says:

    What a stunner! R

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

