PEOPLE 180 – AFFECTION (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

Affection
.
My friend displaying affection for her cat, and her cat enjoying it; 19 July 2014.

I feel this to be somewhat surreal, and like it for that.  The hand is just there, sharp and clear, but what its attached to is anyone’s guess.  I remember it being attached to my friend but, if you know me at all, how reliable a witness can I be?

And the cat is both dissected by the frame and mostly blown out to featureless blazing white by the over exposure – except for an eye closed and a head tilted back in great enjoyment of the moment.

There’s also the cat’s profile, winding sinuously upwards with white fur protruding like a palisade of white spikes, to culminate at top left in that great, erect ear.  The white hairs stand out well against the darkly patterned backdrop, which is the fabric of a sofa.

You can find a recent picture of my friend here, and recent pictures of her cat here and here.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Smooth preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

27 Responses to PEOPLE 180 – AFFECTION (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    What a beautiful moment… and you’ve captured it very well, my friend!

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    Absolutely awesome!

    Like

  3. karijeppesen says:

    …a joy…and I can hear the sound the cat is making too… a wonderful photo!! (…smiling a lot…)
    Have a great weekend, Adrian!!

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    My whole computer desk is rumbling with the purr!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sallyann says:

    Can’t you just hear the cat purring. 😀
    And if the owner of the hand could purr, you would hear that too.
    Beautiful photo. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hallysan! >>> there’s no getting away from the fact that there are times when I really like the ways in which you think >> the notion of the owner purring is just a wonderful one, which never would have occurred to me! You have enriched – and brightened! – my day >>> thank you!!! Adrian 🙂

      Like

      • Sallyann says:

        Ha ha thanks, in truth though, I don’t think very often, the words just come into my head and fall out of my mouth, or from my fingers in the case of blogging. But so long as they brighten someone’s day and not darken it then I see no reason to change that. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          ABSOLUTELY!!! >>> making others laugh and smile is one of the really worthwhile things in Life, and we must never lose sight of that. And I also like words coming into your head and falling out of your mouth – lots of Quotes Of The Day emerging here, Hally! 😀

          Like

  6. icastel says:

    I’m not much of a cat person, but I can appreciate this shot. Perfect moment captured. And just look at the fluffiness on him (her?) … adds a very nice texture 🙂

    Like

  7. RobynG says:

    This is an awesome image, Adrian! So much emotion..of our joy, of course! I love the composition and your intentional cropping of the frame. Really nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dina says:

    This is magnificent! ❤

    Like

  9. calvipitecus says:

    Una hermosa fotografía. Buen trabajo.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Javier, I don’t speak Spanish, but Google tells me that you’re saying “a beautiful photograph. good job” – is that right??? – well thank you very much! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  10. paula graham says:

    Adrian, yes, I like it..different to usual cat photos..and therefore makes one look.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

