SOMERSET LEVELS 172 – SUNRISE AND GLASTONBURY TOR 3 (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

Sunrise and Glastonbury Tor 3
.
The sun rising beside Glastonbury Tor; 22 Nov 2013.

There are two earlier shots on this theme, here and hereThese are both reasonably normally processed landscapes, looking not too far distant from the real thing.  But in this third version I’ve been more liberal with colour and, especially, with grain.  Maybe this is how Glastonbury appears if you’re on your way home from having a good time there.

D800 with 80-400 Nikkor at 400mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Smooth preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 172 – SUNRISE AND GLASTONBURY TOR 3 (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Meanderer says:

    Magical! Another potential book cover 🙂

    Like

  2. Very reminiscent of Halloween. I likey 🙂
    xxx
    ATP

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    The last time I had such a “good” time that things looked like this for me was…umm, let me see…nope it won’t come back. Apparently my sincere efforts to erase the experience from active memory have at last been fortunately effective. And yet, when I try, against my better judgment, wisps remain…was it the night of mixing Cutty Sark with 7-Up? As Shelley Berman said, one of the parts of that memory was: “Oh, God. My tongue is asleep. And my teeth itch.” Thank goodness I finally saw (another) light and have graduated to an appreciation for a fine single malt. To this day, you can line 20 samples of Scotch in front of me, and when my nose passes over the Cutty Sark, my stomach does this imitation of a fish freshly out of water…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, my friend, there are times when your words get very deeply through to me, when I know I’m talking to a kindred spirit, albeit one an ocean away. I especially love the Shelley Berman quote. And of course I’m sending you Cutty Sark for Christmas – a gin bottle ought to be sufficient camouflage … with a pink bow to distract … just an idea … A 😀

      Like

  4. paula graham says:

    I like all three versions..this one certainly is the most Arty..not sure which to prefer..depends on one’s mood, I presume!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Mood is certainly important in my case, Paula, it can dictate my visual loves and hates in a certainly non-permanent fashion. And two instances at the extremes of these feelings – when I’m drunk all my pictures look good (but fortunately the effect does not outlast the inebriation), and when I’m tired none of them do! Thanks for appreciating my stuff! Adrian

      Like

  5. I really like the processing of this one – it reminds me of a silkscreen print on fabric and the colours are terrific. Like the other two too!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good! – thank you very much! This is an enlarged view through a big telephoto – and its SEP2 of course, which provides the grain and the (slightly???) unreal colours. I might get up on the Mendip Hills tomorrow, and I’m off for lunch on Bristol’s Harbourside today. Hope you’re fine! I’ve enjoyed your cold weather photos – and am still struggling with imagining such cold in the anti-podes! A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

