BRISTOL 79 – AND IN THE BEGINNING WAS THE CAT 2 (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

And in the beginning was the cat 2a

.
Our friends’ cat; 19 July 2014.

There is another picture of this lovely creature here.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 3,200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Antique Plate 2 preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

41 Responses to BRISTOL 79 – AND IN THE BEGINNING WAS THE CAT 2 (MONO)

  1. I am captivated by your cat images! I’m seeing just enough shading to get the form. I just want to thank you for your beautiful work.

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Still liked here too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Sonali Dalal says:

    Now I am really envious of your mastery over close-up of animals and birds and fantastic editing of the same!

    Like

  4. Pingback: PEOPLE 180 – AFFECTION (MONO) | FATman Photos

  5. Malin H says:

    Such a beautiful cat… and you’ve portrayed this beauty very well, my friend!

    Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    A cat’s “expression” is so often hard, if not impossible, to read. Yet it’s an irresistible temptation to keep trying. Reducing one to this minimalist level, though artistically excellent, makes it even harder. But, of course, it’s all conjecture, so we’re left to decide if we like it or not. And I do!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, my friend, for your appreciation! Oh yes, we certainly don’t know what cats are thinking – I seem to recall a book years ago on their behaviour / psychology – maybe I should chase it on Amazon. I have a post coming sometime soon entitled “Affection”, where a cat is being fondled / tickled – but who knows whether the animal feels any affection, or is just enjoying itches / sensitive spots being scratched? Of course, having been a vet, you’re far more into this than I am.

      When I’m with a cat, like the one pictured here, I always tell them that its very good to see them, that seeing them is always good. And I’ve found that repeating these things quite quietly seems to really draw the animals’ attention – they look up, they look into my eyes – maybe they’re not used to being talked to so quietly. A (= A case for Treatment …)

      Liked by 1 person

      • krikitarts says:

        Cats are such individuals that it’s hard to generalize, but one thing I’ve noticed is that when a cat really looks me in the eyes (which a cat is more likely to do than a dog, unless it’s your best friend), it seems to be able to look really deeply, as if piercing many layers to see what lies inside. And, btw, regarding “having been a vet,” I still am…

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Oh I absolutely agree with you, Gary, cats’ stares are piercing – maybe this is a part of their mystery and aura.

          And, sorry, but I assumed that you’re retired, which is what “having been” means – are you retired or still working? A ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

  7. paula graham says:

    As pictures of cats
    go…and there are millions..both pictures and cats…it is a graceful one indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, thank you very much. I have great affection for cats – maybe because I grew up in the company of one, I don’t know – and maybe (once again!) that comes through to some extent here. Adrian

      Like

  8. Meanderer says:

    Well done, Adrian!

    Like

  9. wow Adrian – love this… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  10. poppytump says:

    Finding it difficult to look away … such an alluring gaze …

    Like

  11. Beautiful! The essence of cat ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  12. eevamarian says:

    So snazzy! Love this.

    Like

  13. Sue Vincent says:

    That’s a gorgeous portrait, Adrian!

    Like

  14. earthstills says:

    mesmerizing…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much! I see from your blog that you like cats too – you have striking images, including that “On the surface of things” I caught on Freshly Pressed this morning. Thank you again. Adrian

      Like

  15. nice :: ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ::

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

