GARDEN 54 – FLOWERS IN THE LAWN

 

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

Flowers in our back lawn
.
Flowers in our back lawn; 15 July 2014.

The flowers are accompanied by two buds, one of which is just starting to open (and has rabbit ears), while the other is still closed.

I wondered about the placement of these flowers in the frame, and the completed picture reflects my feeling that the colours and shapes of the out of focus grass down below these blooms are integral parts of the shot, rather than merely a conveniently blurred backdrop.

And, finally, to make this post suitably solemn (well, what else on this blog, sweeties?), a point of personal outlook, a basic belief.  These flowers are living in our back lawn and I am more than happy for them to be there.  That the Natural World has had the presumption to interfere with the (admittedly ragged) design of our garden matters not at all, and “weed” is a concept that I refuse to recognise. 

But whether these delicate blooms will escape the predations of my roaring petrol mower will all be down to careful steering – its all in the wrists, you know …

D800 with 105mm Nikkor; 400 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to GARDEN 54 – FLOWERS IN THE LAWN

  1. krikitarts says:

    These look very much like our hawkweed, which I am always happy to see in Minnesota. Your comment about the rabbit ears gave me the biggest grin I’ve had all day. Please have a dram of your favorite single malt, and put it on my tab.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good stuff >>> grins must be worthwhile – and it feels great to be an instigator thereof! Maybe its a bit early for a dram … oh, I don’t know though … give the day a new look …. 😉 ….

      Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Haha… I see the rabbit ears :))
    Different personalities… Lovely!

    Like

  3. I so love the blur. It looks tie-dyed to me and I am a BIG fan of tie-dyed. The flowers are lovely. Weeds? What’s that? 😉
    xxx

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Yes, one man’s weed is another man’s flower…I care for a whole meadow full of Weeds, birds and butterflies! Mowing done by ponies, in the autumn.
    I like you post, but not so sure about the addition of the tiny bud as the ‘third’ one about to open already tells us the story. Like the ’empty space’ well enough, although I am getting rather fond of square pics, but in your case that might be a bit too obvious.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Your meadow, Paula, and its inhabitants and mowers, sound wonderful – you are lucky! 🙂

      Stories are a weak point of mine and something that I would like to get better at, but I just don’t routinely think along those lines. I could have taken the tiny bud out, but it was there and thus part of the thing, and I think it balances the other three flowers – makes them a triangle within which is the largest bloom.

      I usually use free cropping, i.e. to no standard proportions, because this gives me the greatest creative freedom, and it is also fine for the books made by Blurb.com in which I assemble my photos. But a square crop is one that I deliberately set from time to time, because it is such a powerful compositional tool.

      Thanks for your thoughts. Adrian

      Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    Another pretty grassy picture.?
    I wondered at first, but since this yellow splash of colour seems to have been photoed from above, I’m guessing you made it back safely to the upright position after your excursion with the clover. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      If you don’t want pretty, duchess, you don’t have to have it! I do after all have doom and gloom on tap and, mentioning taps, there are also the ones of me in the bath, after the water ran out, which I have yet to present to an eager world.

      And yes I made it back to the upright. The builders next door were shifting bags of cement and so they rigged me up on their block and tackle, which really made my eyes water, know what I mean?

      Like

  6. I like the placement, it gives them height – almost as though they are reaching up to greet you. I always think dandelions are very friendly looking flowers 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I agree exactly with what you say about the placement – they’re coming up to take a look at us and say hello! And they are some kind of Dandilion, aren’t they – I got that far with my plant book. The actual, very common Dandilions are amongst my favourite flowers, I agree with you about the friendly aspect with those too, and I also think they look absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for your thoughts, Lisa! A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

