PEOPLE 179 – PORTRAIT OF A YOUNG FRIEND (MONO)

 

 

Portrait of a young friend
.
Portrait of a young friend; 19 July 2014.

She is the younger daughter of close friends of our’s.  Earlier pictures of her can be found here and here.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Triste 1 preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to PEOPLE 179 – PORTRAIT OF A YOUNG FRIEND (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    Very sincere portrait of a beautiful young lady!

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    She is a beauty and your portrait does justice to her.

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful portrait, Adrian.

    Like

  4. Love the gradient in lighting here, and agree with Paul..the strand of hair into the light ties this up nicely. Wonderful portrait, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Brandon, I appreciate your words! I took special care to preserve the gradient lighting here – those few, subdued details of her hair (especially) and her ear are important – I didn’t want that area to be in impenetrable shadow. And you like the strand of hair too – excellent! Thank you again. Adrian

      Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    I’m with Paula–the flyaway strands of hair definitely add to the spontaneous charm. You’ve made a really lovely momentary, yet timeless capture here!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, thank you very much indeed! And Paula and yourself are absolutely right >>> I’m so glad that I didn’t “crop and clone right down to the bone”!!! Cheers, man! Adrian

      Like

  6. 🙂
    ❤️
    ‘Nuff said.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. paula graham says:

    Very nice, the strand of hair makes all te difference. Bonnie girl!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, thank you very much! Yes, she is delightful. And its interesting that you should see the strand of hair as crucial, because I was considering removing it – but looking at it again now, I think you’re right – maybe it adds to her character, maybe it acts as a partial frame, a closure on the right, to the image, I don’t know. Thanks for your thoughts!

      And, as I often go to see the blogs of those who leave Comments here, I’ve just visited your’s – and thank you for following my blog, I appreciate that! You certainly have strong photos, photos with their roots in anguish. I especially like the one with the desolate face peering through the broken window.

      And if you are new to blogging, well I urge you to persevere, to follow your heart. Especially early on it can be a lonely road but, if you feel it the right road for you, do it! I’ll be happy to answer any points or queries you may have, if I can.

      You’ll see comments on my blog from Malin Helleso and Kari Jeppesen – you might find their blogs interesting.

      Thank you again. Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

