BIRDS 61 – BLACK KITE: PLUMAGE DETAIL

 

 

Black Kite plumage detail
.
Feather detail on the flank of a Black Kite at the International Centre for Birds of Prey, Newent, Gloucestershire; 2 July 2014.

There is another photo of this bird here.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1,000 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

22 Responses to BIRDS 61 – BLACK KITE: PLUMAGE DETAIL

  1. very nice – I do love images of feathers…

    Like

  2. As much as we (humans) manicure the world, nature’s detail and patters always seems so effortless. Inspiring. Love this one, Adrian, but I’m wondering how it would look in monochrome. Did you mess with it at all in that way during processing?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh you’re so right about Nature’s details, Brandon – compared to which our manicuring of the world is a pathetic, artificial, short-lasting thing! Although I love mono, I didn’t try this one in that medium because I value the very slight colours here. I’m a great believer in the thought that the most successful colour pictures are often those with the least colour, and that hit me here. I might give this a go in mono, I’ll think about it. Thanks for your thoughts, my friend! Adrian

      Like

  3. I can imagine blowing on them and watching them softly flutter. Beautiful!

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Another lover of feather close-ups 🙂

    Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    It’s great to emerge from helpless blog-hibernation and find such a delicacy waiting for me. I knew I could count on you to help to get the old inspiration stoked up again!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Great stuff, Gary, glad to know that I’m a stoker upper!!! Try strong drink too, I positively prescribe (and never ever proscribe!) it!!! 😀

      Like

      • krikitarts says:

        Just took your sage advice, with a newly-discovered Islay single malt, and I already feel even better! Now if it will only help me to sleep a bit better tonight with my recovering shoulder…

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I can imagine that sleeping is very difficult with a sore shoulder – the whisky ought to help(!) but hopefully the soreness will reduce – tho I suppose, gradually. I hope you’re mended soon, my friend. 🙂

          Like

  6. Sonali Dalal says:

    Makes fantastic abstract!!

    Like

  7. Malin H says:

    Oh, yes, yes, yes!!! Love it. :))
    Now this is art, bird-art. Isn’t it fascinating…

    Like

  8. RobynG says:

    Excellent, Adrian! I love the colors and textures. The depth of field is superb!

    Like

  9. I really like this Adrian!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

