BRISTOL 78 – AND IN THE BEGINNING WAS THE CAT (MONO)

 

 

And in the beginning was the cat
.

Our friends’ cat; 19 July 2014.

And in the beginning was the cat …  Some of you may know that I’m a cat lover.  We don’t have a cat around the house, but I grew up with one, who was two years my senior and who died when I was 12 or 13 or so.  He was called George, I still have a photo of him and, as I get older, I miss him more and more.

I admire these little predators’ grace and beauty and, aloof and independent though they may be, I love – as I do with any living thing – the moments of interaction, the moments when whatever is inside a sociable tabby is in some way, however nebulously, connecting with whatever is inside of me.

For this reason, I love peering deeply into their eyes.  In the past I have done just this with domestic cats’ far larger relatives – lion, cheetah and leopard – and been transfixed by the beauty and dignity in those amber deepnesses.  Such days are over, but the nearness of a little cat never fails to arouse in me feelings of wonder and wellbeing.

To me this is a somewhat strange image, which essentially consists of a great white blob set against a black periphery.  The blob is alive – right up in the foreground it has fur structure, and a head.  On its flank is a vertical darkness that forms a dark backdrop for its nose and forehead, and which appears to pass on up over its head, just in front of its right ear.  But this is illusory: because of the way the animal is sitting, separate black markings on its flank and head appear to be one.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Spectrum Inverse preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to BRISTOL 78 – AND IN THE BEGINNING WAS THE CAT (MONO)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Still liked. 🙂

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Wonderful post, Adrian. I know exactly what you mean. I’m a cat lover too… and I still miss my “baby” (a Devon Rex male) – I had him for 15 years and I have so many memories… I miss him so much! You can read about the breed here:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Devon_Rex

    Like

  3. Pingback: PEOPLE 180 – AFFECTION (MONO) | FATman Photos

  4. Sonali Dalal says:

    I am no cat lovers as it kills birds I love so much but I must say it makes even cat look beautiful 🙂

    Like

  5. wonderful image, Adrian! Love the black and white. I too love cats and have been lucky to have some lovely little creatures. currently I have one ginger tabby, Jazz.

    Like

  6. Lovely image, he/she seems to glow (in a good way!). My parents have been owned by cats all my life, they have two at present I’ve not met that look intriguing, Tonkinese but rescue cats 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Lisa >>> I love the thought of people being owned by cats but you’re right. that’s how it is! I would love a cheetah as a pet – they have been domesticated – just imagine all of that quiet beauty sitting up, aloof, in the living room! A

      Like

  7. Precious
    Was George white too? I had a gray cat when I was 15. Her name was Jessica. There’s a long story behind her ‘capture’ and I still think of her with feeling of nostalgia. Those were good times. Those were very bad times. She was part of the good. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      George was white on the face and under parts but darker above, and he was big! I was an only child and he was always around, until he wasn’t any more, and I suppose he was something like a companion, if not a brother. We lived in a house on top of a hill, almost in the country really, and he had nice, wild areas roundabouts to roam in.

      And in bad weather, early in the mornings, he would climb up over fences and roofs to my bedroom window, and tap on the glass with his claws to be let in out of the wind and rain.

      I very much like your words “Those were good times. Those were very bad times. She was part of the good.”, I like the way you put things. A xxx

      Like

  8. There is normally a cat at the start of everything! I am just about to embark on the start of our girls nocturnal endeavours at preventing us from getting any sleep 😉 Lovely photo and I do like the optical illusion!

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

