SOMERSET LEVELS 171 – POLLARDED WILLOW 4 (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

Pollarded willow south of Godney
.

Pollarded willow, south of Godney; 29 May 2014.

I took this image into black and white, and rendering much of the tree’s skeleton black, restoring the greens of the foliage and superimposing a pale vignette, I’m left with two impressions.

First, a dark explosion within the tree is blowing it apart.  Second, some dark being within the tree is alive and raging.

There are other pictures in this short series here, here and here.

D700 with 16-35 Nikkor at 16mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Antique Portrait preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 171 – POLLARDED WILLOW 4 (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Meanderer says:

    Love it! I can see a many-armed wild-haired woman in there, practising her exercises! Either that or it’s another enemy of Dr Who: the Willow Warrior 🙂

    Like

  2. I surely do like this one! A lot.
    xxx

    Like

  3. Emily Gooch says:

    I really like this shot, Adrian. Though I can seem to find the exact words/reasons to describe why I like this image so much… is it the dream, fantasy like state the image evokes? or perhaps it’s the unique composition of shooting the bush from above so it looks like it’s ready to embrace or swallow me… or maybe it’s just the creativity of this shot that makes my brain work… who knows… it’s just one of those images that you know you like but don’t exactly know why… 😉

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

