PEOPLE 178 – MY FRIEND’S FEET (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

My friend's feet, in her wonderful socks
.
My friend’s feet, in her wonderful socks; 19 July 2014.

This is the second of two unconventional portraits of the same person; the first, posted yesterday and with a little more context, is here.

I was struck by the beauty of my friend’s socks as soon as she opened her front door to welcome me in.  She is an extremely valued friend and a delightful person, and to me these socks say it all about her.

And so as we sat chatting in her front room, me with a damned great camera and lens balanced on my paunch (aka camera support …), I looked down at her feet and, as another (and far more far off) friend so succinctly puts it, I “clicked”.

And then to a mono shot, to simplify matters and to bring out the patterns in the wooden floor and the edge of the sofa – and because the socks were the only blue things around, they were an ideal candidate for selective replacement of original colour, which helps them to make them the unquestioned subjects of the image.  Their stripes are at right angles to those of the floorboards.

Portraits conventionally show most or all of the human face, but this is just one approach.  To me, this image brings my friend to mind just as certainly as if she were sitting here beside me.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Expressive Portrait preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to PEOPLE 178 – MY FRIEND’S FEET (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Catching up, working backwards, and again came upon the happy socks…
    And also again… they made me smile. 😀

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    It clicked my friend 🙂 and I like it.

    Like

  3. This made me smile. 😀
    BIG! Haha.

    Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Lovely, Adrian. I like the stripes going this way and that; well seen.

    AND: a fan of ‘Amelie’! Another surprise! The best bit of that film is the travelling gnome.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, M, very glad you like it! Oh I like lots and lots of things in Amelie – not least the surreal bits, like the green subway scenes, the beggar not working on Sundays, the penguin looking at her when she medically examines him, the Man of Glass, the table lamp (with a pig?) switching itself off – I could go on and on – I suppose Amelie has had something of an effect on me, maybe it was something of a revelation. A 🙂

      Like

  5. Malin H says:

    Lovely post,my friend.

    And… the motifs are everywhere, aren’t they? 😉

    Like

  6. Sallyann says:

    Pretty socks make happy people. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Both photos tell a similar story about your friends personality! Great work.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Katherine, thank you very much! I’m intrigued by your photobooth project, for two reasons.

      First, I think its a very novel idea, and your results are excellent. Second, it reminds me of a hugely favourite film – Amelie – in which one of the central characters makes albums of found / reject photobooth photos – you probably know the film – if not, I recommend it!

      Thank you again. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

