BRISTOL 77 – A PIECE OF PAPER, TWISTED AROUND A GATE (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

A twist of paper wrapped around a gate, in Bristol
.
A twist of paper tied around the bars of a black gate, in a dark doorway beside Queen’s Road in central Bristol; 17 July 2014.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (equivalent); 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Film Noir 1 preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to BRISTOL 77 – A PIECE OF PAPER, TWISTED AROUND A GATE (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    I love this! Dark background is always my favourite. And here you have done well with it!

    Like

  2. Malin H says:

    This makes me think of a still life… excellent image. Well seen!!

    Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    But aren’t you wondering about the picture behind the picture?
    Is it a sign, a message or a memory jogger or something?
    For instance, four of us in work all go to lunch together. we use footstools to reach the higher shelves and if three of us have gathered for lunch but are unable to find the fourth, we three go to lunch, but turn the footstool of the fourth upsidedown, if I was to return from the warehouse and find my footstool upturned, I would immediately go for lunch. Maybe if I came home from town and found a plastic bag tied to my gate I’d know I’d had a visitor while I was out.
    I have often tied a plastic carrier bag to the inside handle of my front door as a memory jogger, for instance, if Eldest Daughter calls in on her way home from town, I’ll put her chilled shopping into the fridge so that she can stay long enough for a cuppa. Since her memory is almost as bad as mine. A plastic carrier on the door handle will have us both wracking our brains trying to remember why it’s there.
    Or is it there for another reason, as a sign that the coast is clear… The father had gone out so the boyfriend, who has been banned from setting foot over the threshold, is able to come a courting. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I love this, Hallysann! You are wonderful! And I will start with a humble (I’m ever so ‘umble, Miss Sallyann!) admission – something I’m bad at and want to get better at. As you may have realised(!), I love images and am very enthusiastic about all of their graphic qualities – composition, texture, medium, you name it. BUT I simply often completely miss the subtler bits, eg narrative, meanings, implications, nuances. Maybe I’m a bit blokey ……

      So, no, I didn’t wonder about the picture behind the picture, I just was most enthused by the picture, by its surface features. And I must must must discipline myself to routinely think of such things when looking at images.

      Fascinating to hear about the footstools, such a simple and practical routine! And I certainly use memory joggers too, and notes to myself, and lists – and in retirement I absolutely live by my diary!

      Love the idea of the “coast is clear” sign >>> hope that was the reason!!! “Love in a dark doorway”, there could be a Mills & Boon there …. ๐Ÿ™‚ …

      Sallyann, thank you for your wonderful thoughts – my blog is the richer for them! Adrian ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    I like this. It is unusual and one wonders about it, but it works. Interesting Robert has mentioned an Old Master still life. Yes, it has that feel to it. It also reminds me a little of a soft fabric scarf which has become ensnared. Something different, to be sure.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh, unusual it is, my friend, but when has that ever stopped me pointing a camera at anything? I’ve always been visually adventurous, trusting myself to gut instincts about visual things – but of course in earlier decades it was only myself and a small circle of friends that were seeing the results.

      But one of the benefits of blogging is that images go out around the world at the press of a button, and this has made me more adventurous still – and, after all, if an image is disliked its not the end of the world >>> and its far better to try and fail than not try at all. Thanks for your thoughts, M! Adrian

      Like

  5. LensScaper says:

    Ah yes. The detritus can be photogenic too. On a completely different topic you re-blogged a post fro Eeva Maria the other day. An excellent choice – I’ve followed here. Someone else you might like is Stadtauge: stadtauge.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad it gets to you, Andy, thanks! And Eeva Maria, well as I’m sure you know, sometimes you happen upon a blog and bang-bang-bang!!! every image is striking, and her blog is one such – I’m glad it gets to you too!

      Stadtauge often appears in the Likes on my blog and I will certainly have a look at his blog. But really my main interest is in creating images, and I have to be very careful not to overcommit myself to Following others’ blogs or this becomes all that my sessions on WordPress are doing, ie rather than creating images to go onto WP. There are a few blogs that I’ve been following for years – old friends! – and they have a special place with me, but it is only very occasionally now that I follow others – Eeva Maria’s striking outpourings being a case in point.

      Another factor here is that, when I make a Comment on a post, I often get stuck into the detail, by which I mean that I don’t just say a word or two – eg this reply!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ And while this is of course time consuming, I do like to really communicate with people, rather than just say a word or two. As it says on my New Comments box, I like hearing from people and communicating with them.

      But I do trawl through Freshly Pressed regularly, certainly every time I put a post out, if not more frequently, and all images that I Like on FP appear in the panel at the bottom of my sidebar, in the hope that others will see them. Thanks for your thoughts, man! Adrian

      Like

  6. Very weird, but cool. For some reason, it looks almost religious to me. Huh? What? But yup.

    Like

  7. Robert says:

    What an amazing picture, it reminds me of an old master still life

    >

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, Robert! Interesting that you should mention “old master still life” as, looking at that crumpled piece of paper, that’s exactly what I think >>> it may be waxed paper, which gives it more of a sheen, and the re-introduction of colour to the mono image has possibly enhanced the effect. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

