SOMERSET LEVELS 168 – LOOKING WEST ALONG TOTNEY DROVE

 

 

Looking west along Totney Drove, on the Somerset Levels
.
Looking west along Totney Drove, on Tadham Moor; 14 May 2014.

This image is starting to blur into soft areas of colour, its on its way to providing an impression of what was there, rather than hard, sharp, in focus facts.

The great banks of blossom look like huge yellow tubes laid out across the landscape, as they recede into the distance on either side of the very slightly undulating, grey road. 

And the large, dark trees – which provide greens and faint yellows – arch over the road to form a tunnel, at the end of which our destination appears hazy and very faintly blue.

Half closing my eyes, squinting through my eyelashes, I enhance the effect and see the image as only consisting of converging stripes of yellow and grey, below great, dark, rolling and rounded masses of green.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

13 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 168 – LOOKING WEST ALONG TOTNEY DROVE

  1. drawandshoot says:

    I just adore your landscapes, Adrian! This is brilliant in every sense. Gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you very much, Karen! My landscapes are liked, and that’s a very pleasing thing that gives me a lot of motivation. They are unconventional in many cases, and that’s the way I like doing things. Thank you again. Adrian

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    A considerable amount of seed has escaped over time – but what a wonderful sight this is. Each Spring I search for a field of this to try to find an arresting image – clearly I’m looking in the wrong place. Is this unique I ask myself? Great image, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Andy! I may be getting completely the wrong end of the stick here, but are you saying this is Oilseed Rape? It may be, but the possibility had never occurred to me – I thought it was some wildflower – but botanically, as I’ve always said, I have little idea. Adrian

      Like

      • LensScaper says:

        I am assuming it is Oilseed Rape. A lot is grown around here and because the seed spills off the farm trailers in transit we get pockets of it along the roadsides but nothing quite like this amazing avenue.I may be wrong too…

        Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    It looks so idyllic, doesn’t it? Like a wonderful dream.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, and you know, sometimes it is. Retired now for 17 months or so, I seem to be chilling out big time, really letting the World of Work slip out of my thoughts and make up, out of who I am. I had a tentative offer of a consultancy recently but, ok there would be money, but there would also be a year or so of frenetic work and stress, and really, who needs that?

      And re your mentions of idylls and dreams, my love for Natural things and the countryside just keeps on increasing, and when I’m out and about – and especially so if I’m on the Levels – my senses of appreciation and wellbeing are simply vast. Maybe I’ve made the picture resemble what I sometimes feel. A 🙂

      Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Like it. ! 🙂

    Like

  5. Malin H says:

    Lovely, lovely… very dreamy. I like it a lot, my friend!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

