BIRDS 60 – GREAT GREY OWL 2

 

 

Portrait of Great Grey Owl
.
Great Grey Owl at the International Centre for Birds of Prey, Newent, Gloucestershire; 2 July 2014.

There is another picture of this bird here.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 5,000 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to BIRDS 60 – GREAT GREY OWL 2

  1. Sallyann says:

    Love the wide open eyes as if he (or she) was surprised to see you. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, so do I – but this expression was aimed all over the place, not just at the strangest thing on the menu … Overall, a truly intriguing bird and, of course, a consummate killer too. A 🙂

      Like

  2. Malin H says:

    Oh yes, I love the expression! Lovely portrait (as usual), my friend!

    Like

  3. Fabulous, sir. Love it! xxx

    Like

  4. Another great portrait of this magnificent bird – it has a very intimate feel to it 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Lisa! Although I had no idea that this individual would be there, I did go up to ICBP with the intent of taking portraits of this spectacular species in particular, which as a past birder I know very well, though I’ve never seen it in the wild.

      And soon after I arrived there, there were flying demonstrations of various birds, which attracted all of the other visitors. This individual’s cage is under an archway in a rather out of the way part of the site and, the other visitors being elsewhere, we were left alone for sometime, in silence, and I stayed still and quiet, very gently changing position now and then.

      He (or she, I don’t know!) seemed ok with me. We quite a lot of relaxed eye contact, but at other times he just did his own thing, which included bending and stretching about in all directions, always with this striking yellow eyes peering around. Although I was not at one with his caged state, it was quite an enthralling experience. Some of the other owls were like statues – staring straight through me it sometimes seemed – but this one was far more intriguing. Adrian

      Like

  5. bananabatman says:

    A very ‘Wise Old Owl’ Adrian. Somehow it seems to remind me of one of your ‘selfies’ from the past. Perhaps it’s just because I know that you are a wise old owl. It’s a great image of a lovely bird as well.

    I’m still around but have been very busy. Just passing through at the moment. Dave.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello, Dave, good to hear from you, man! Thanks for your kind words ->>> and a bit like one of my selfies?????????????????? And a “wise old owl” >>> what are you on??? 😀

      I hope you’re both well, and that you’ll be back blogging in the not too distant future. Cheers, my friend! Adrian

      Like

  6. cuuuuuuuuuuuuute

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

