BIRDS 58 – LANNER FALCON

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

Lanner Falcon at ICBP
.
Lanner Falcon at the International Centre for Birds of Prey, at Newent, Gloucestershire; 2 July 2014.

Lanners are medium-sized falcons, around the size of our Peregrine.  They have a vast world range, from southern Europe down through Africa, and eastwards across Russia to China.  I remember them well from Kenya, and from Oman too.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

22 Responses to BIRDS 58 – LANNER FALCON

  1. Malin H says:

    I love the expression here!
    Wonderful portrait, my friend!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, he is stern, aloof and disdainful – to him, my friend, you and I are lesser mortals – and maybe he’s right. Thank you for your good words, Malin. I hope you’re fine. Adrian

      Like

  2. Beautiful, I like the light in its eyes. Looks like you had a very productive day on your visit 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! Yes, it was a good day, I spent a lot of time with the birds but, as I may post, I wasn’t too much at one with the bars, wire and cages side of things – I’m no great Animal Rights activist, but maybe having seen so many wild creatures in the wild I’m spoilt for anything else. Thanks for your good words! Adrian

      Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    He looks very regal. One can see why they were the birds of kings and queens.

    Like

  4. Brigid O’Shaughnessy: I haven’t lived a good life. I’ve been bad, worse than you could know.
    Sam Spade: You know, that’s good, because if you actually were as innocent as you pretend to be, we’d never get anywhere.

    Haha! From The Maltese Falcon
    Couldn’t resist.
    Great looking bird, A. 😀

    Like

  5. Sonali Dalal says:

    Superb details!!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

