PEOPLE 174 – MAN IN THE RAIN (MONO)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

Man walking in the rain, with an umbrella, in Bristol
.
Man hurrying in the rain outside St Nicholas Market, in central Bristol; 12 Feb 2014.

I was in the Café Revival, drinking coffee and enjoying the music – jazz and swing –  when a cloudburst sent people scurrying in the street below. 

Once again, the G11 is not the best thing to go at such subjects with – but you use what you’ve got with you at the time!

Canon G11 Powershot at 140mm (equivalent); 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Smooth preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

22 Responses to PEOPLE 174 – MAN IN THE RAIN (MONO)

  1. icastel says:

    Just love this shot, Adrian. I’m a sucker for a good silhouette picture, add an umbrella to the mix, and I’m there! 🙂

    Like

  2. Sonali Dalal says:

    My God Adrian!! With each image you are just beating your previous standards! sense of motion, silhouette,and weather all perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sallyann says:

    I’m learning to like the rain. I like the way it lights up the pavement and make people look as if they’re skating on ice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Sallyann, there’s definitely something of the poet in you, as well as being a cakeist! Lighting up the pavement, skating on ice – wow, imaginative stuff, my friend! >>> KEEP ON KEEPING ON … and learn to hate auto rotate ….

      And the rain is natural and often clean, its good stuff! Thanks for your thoughts! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    I can sense the hurry, that back-swung arm for instance. Canon G10 (mine) and your G11 don’t make candids easy with that small but crucial shutter lag. But I guess that on the positive side, using one as in this situation is less obtrusive than suddenly bringing a dSLR up to the eye for a shot. I like being unobtrusive in places like this

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      You’re right, I agree with you entirely – that small shutter lag – but on the plus side not bringing to bear a large DSLR + telephoto. And unobtrusive is certainly the thing, a low profile, melt into the background. John Le Carre in one of his George Smiley novels wrote that the spy’s fervent prayer is that he will never ever be noticed – and its the same for people/street photographers. I find that looking down into the G11’s screen helps quite a bit.

      I have a waterproof Lumix camera but have really never got to grips with it, so I’m thinking about Nikon’s all-weather offering, and being in the garden or downtown in the pouring rain.

      Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    Very striking silhouette! I like the feeling of urgency as the person rushes to escape the rain.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! How is, was or has been the Bloody Mary??? Reached the parts that high fibre cereals can’t did it, mmm??? 😉 xxx

      Like

      • Actually wasn’t as good as I would have liked. Switched to Sweet Baby Jesus chocolate peanut butter porter. Say that 3 times fast!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          And now I’m dribbling, thanks to multiple SBJcpbp’s … but is that actually the name of what you were knocking back????? Sounds … different …. 😀 …..

          Like

          • A nice, thick, dark chocolate brown, tasty beer. Kind of like a Guinness with a little extra flavor. Guinness is one of my faves, so have that on tap when I (eventually) board that plane! 😉

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Oh gee, ma’am (is my American accent getting there do you think … with indefinite fears of where “there” is …. ???????)

              And, another veil drops >>> you’re a Guinness fan too!!!!!!!!!! Well, you know me and beer, but although I do like draught Guinness, I love even more the bottled Guinnesses that are for export – at 7.5% and 8% they are not to be knocked back like water, but wowee they are good! Google “Guinness Foreign Extra Stout” and “Guinness Special Export”, and try them if you get a chance.

              And yes, ’twill be on tap for you, or do prefer it intravenously? 🙂 xxx

              Like

  6. RobynG says:

    I love this image, Adrian! It’s mysterious and light hearted at the same time. I love the way you captured the person walking briskly to get out of the rain. The silhouette in black and white is a great choice. The reflection is awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

