SOMERSET LEVELS 165 – PIGEONS AND A CHIMNEY (MONO + COLOUR)

USE YOUR PC’s F11 KEY TO VIEW THIS PAGE FULLSCREEN

 

.
Pigeons on a roof – beside a chimney – at the Clarks Village Retail Outlet, Street, Somerset; 23 Sept 2013.

We have a strategy when visiting appalling (in my opinion) shopping centres like this – my wife browses the shops and I lurk outside with my camera, receiving curious glances. 

This caught my eye, and I was pleased to be able to render the sky featureless white.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 70mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Harsh preset and reintroducing colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

16 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 165 – PIGEONS AND A CHIMNEY (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Shopping is only fun when you don’t actually need to buy anything.
    I like your strategy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Now that’s an interesting take on shopping – and what did my American safari clients used to intone? >>> when you going gets tough ( as it always used to on my safaris), the tough go shopping! I have a strategy? I had one then too – the shops they were driven to paid me commission … 😉 …

      Like

  2. Malin H says:

    It’s nice that you’re lurking outside, especially when you come up with images like this. 🙂
    I like it a lot – less is more-feeling in this one!

    Like

  3. Cannon chimney….great capture, and absolutely love the warm toning in this, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, man – but in fact this isn’t toning, its re-introduced original colour, the colour of the bricks and the roof tiles. I do quite a bit of this now, ie taking an image into mono, and then restoring original colour where and to what extent I want it. It often gives images a slightly unreal look, which I like. Adrian

      Like

  4. I don’t know if I’d hang with you or her. 😉 I like doing both. More pigeons. Cool shot, A.

    Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    I’ve driven past this place but haven’t visited it. I don’t remember the chimney – which is surprising as it isn’t small! It reminds me of Fred Dibnah who used to have great fun knocking them down!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

