PEOPLE 173 – WOMAN IN THE FOG (MONO)

 

Woman in the fog, on the Wells Road, Bristol
.
Woman walking down the Wells Road in south Bristol on a foggy morning; 13 Mar 2014.

The G11 produces images that are already below full (i.e. 35mm) frame in size, and this is a substantial enlargement from one of those images.  Hence image grain has played its part here, and I’ve added to this with grain from SEP2.   This is a dank, foggy morning, all things are diffuse, and this very visible grain adds to that effect.

Where is she going?  She is hurrying down the pavement and, first drawn to that great catapult of a Plane tree, my eye is then drawn left to her – she and the tree are both very dark objects surrounded by light.  She is the stark, central point between the converging lines of the pavement and its attendant trees, which are dissolving off into the distance.  She is headed into that convergence.

The dark mistiness of the road is also headed down that way (with ghosts of buildings just visible over on the right), and a line of road markings, the brightest things in the frame, confirm that direction.

And what of her?  She is hurrying – to work probably, or to some appointment perhaps.  The morning was not really cold, but her coat, wide-brimmed hat and boots add to the inclement effect.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 28mm (equivalent); 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Film Noir 1 preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

46 Responses to PEOPLE 173 – WOMAN IN THE FOG (MONO)

  1. belshade says:

    Lovely picture. Full of atmosphere – monochrome at its best. Des.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sallyann says:

    We only see as far as the woman in the fog but she sees what’s up front and is still going forward. Do we run to catch up or just follow at a safe distance?

    Like

  3. Sonali Dalal says:

    Now, Adrian I am getting jealous 🙂 :). Bravo. Reminds me of a painting hanging in my home of a paris street in monsoon.

    Like

  4. bluebrightly says:

    “Film noir preset” – that was perfect! I think this would look great printed really small, with a good sized mat, and framed. You peer into the mystery of it.

    Like

  5. Malin H says:

    PS.
    This also made me think of the video with John Lennon and Yoko Ono
    You can watch the video Imagine with Yoko and John here:

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you for sending me this, my friend, I’ve never seen it before – it made my eyes rather moist. And you’re right, my image is similar. I was a Beatles fan right from the start, still am, their music is incredible, and the more I hear it the more I admire it. A 🙂

      Like

  6. Malin H says:

    Wow… I have no words…. Excellent, my friend!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. LensScaper says:

    The grain adds so much to this, Adrian. The tall tree and the shorter woman create a great feel of tension in this. The area I feel a little ambivalent about is the dotted road marking to the right of the tree. It’s the brightest part of the image, its curve brings the eye back into the image which is a positive, but I wonder what the image would look like without it. I wouldn’t want to see all that space cropped out, but I wonder how it would look if the about two thirds of the space to the right of the tree were cropped out and the remaining small bit of white line adjacent to the tree cloned out. That would also make the image a vertical one and the height might add to the feeling of the power of the tree relative to the woman. Just an idea….

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, I think you’re quite right. I had wondered about that white – as I said in the caption, its the brightest tone in the frame. Yes, I think that cropping out the right hand 2/3 of the space between the tree and the right margin, and them removing the remainder of the white road markings, would have the effect of concentrating interest on the woman and the tree, which would be a very constructive move. Thanks for your thoughts, my friend, thank you. Adrian

      Like

      • LensScaper says:

        The other option would just be to tone down the highlights in that marking. As I said, those markings do actually draw the eye back into the frame. But the only way we’ll know how it would look without that bit on the right is to crop and see.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Hahahaaa!!!!!! I can feel you subliminally – or is it superliminally??? – edging me towards producing another version of this, Andy! Must be your doctor’s Bedside Manner refusing to lie down (no pun intended!). Well I might do, I’ll think about it. Thanks for your thoughts, my friend! Adrian

          Like

          • LensScaper says:

            I will wait patiently!

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Aaaaarrrrgggghhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

              Like

              • LensScaper says:

                No hurry – tomorrow will do………!!!!!!

                Like

                • Adrian Lewis says:

                  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

                  Like

                  • LensScaper says:

                    I can see steam issuing from here, Adrian! Seriously, not expecting you to do anything public, it was just a suggestion for you to mull over. I haven’t had time to do anything today: Tour de France, F1, Wimbledon and now World Cup Football. what a crazy day.

                    Like

                    • Adrian Lewis says:

                      Haha! >>> don’t worry, I’m not taking it seriously, my friend, I am – as I often do – just messing around! 🙂 I am always up for a laugh and a smile! I don’t know whether I’ll re-crop it or not, but I do think your suggestions worthwhile.

                      But tell me, you don’t actually watch all that sport rubbish on the telly do you??? What was the Roman mob’s thing – bread and circuses? All of that leaves me colder than cold, sub zero in fact, and to me its on a par with soaps. Far rather have something interesting to read or browse through, with some glasses of cloudy cider, tho these in fact are not great optics ….. 😉 …

                      Like

  8. Oh, yes…this is why I visit this blog :). Great film noir feeling, and beware that someone might email you wanting this as an album cover!. The grain wonderfully flattens out the image, and coupled with the stark contrast in depth of field…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Great stuff, Brandon – thank you! I’d like to do more pictures like this but they don’t always come to mind, sometimes the possibilities just aren’t apparent. A 🙂

      Like

  9. Intriguing. Where is she going? Who is she meeting? Where did she come from? Who is she scurrying from? The shadow knows 😉
    Fabulous photos, Adrian. There’s a story here.

    Like

  10. Nelson says:

    I love the grainy texture that you gave to it

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you do, Nelson, thanks! When I first started digital black and white I found it too bland, perfect and antiseptic, without the real guts that I remembered from grainy film. So then I got software that would replicate film, load in grain, you name it. But now I find myself not using grain so much, this is an exception really, but certainly one that would like to try more off. Adrian

      Like

  11. I appreciate you imagination, as well as your photographs!

    Like

  12. Meanderer says:

    Very nice! Interesting, mysterious, and atmospheric. The tree in the foreground with the forked branches seems to be watching her. How fortunate that that particular woman came along at that time. Wearing such a hat is a little unusual, I think, and makes the image that much more interesting and unusual.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I wondered if the tree was watching her – and said so in my reply to Kari. It was very lucky she was there, and no she’s not a model and no its not me frantically dashing forward after a Delayed Action shutter release!!! 🙂 No, luck has prevailed here and I treasure it – and wish it were around more often!

      M, thank you for your good words, I’m glad you like the picture! A

      Like

  13. karijeppesen says:

    …this is so beautiful, Adrian – full of mysteries… (…smiling…)

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Kari (definitely smiling!!!), I’m glad you appreciate it. Yes, certainly mysteries here! Who is she, where is she going? She was moving fast, a fast gait, as maybe the picture shows – I saw the picture but had my camera on the wrong setting, and so had to gallop on down the pavement behind her while adjusting it – fortunately I was unnoticed!

      And, also, is that huge, dark, bare tree, slightly inclined to the left, in fact craning over a little to look at her? Are we in Bristol or Never Never Land – and how would we tell the difference??? 😀 I hope you’re well and fine, Kari. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

